Cream of Leek Soup

Cream of Leek Soup

Cream of Leek Soup

I had a huge leek I wanted to use up today and decided upon soup.  We just LOVE soup in the winter.  In fact, I’m pretty crazy about soups year ’round!  This one was quick and incredibly tasty.

Funny story on this one.  I hollered to the back side of the house today where my husband was hand painting his little lead toys.  “I’m trying a cream of leek soup today.  Do you want that or do you just want to make a sandwich?”  He answered “Sure!” because he loves my soups. I set about my task.

Well, we sat down at the table, he dipped his up, tasted it with a look of trepidation.  He said it was good, to which I replied, “I haven’t made Cream of Leek Soup in ages!”  He looked up, smiled and said “I thought you said we were having cream of WHEAT soup!”  He went on to say he thought that rather odd, but added, “You always make soups I like and I knew better than to question what you had chosen to serve.”  Not sure whether I feel complimented or insulted?  LOL   We pondered over the notion of “Cream of Wheat” soup, laughed a lot and wondered what that might actually taste like. 🙂

Anyway, this was truly delicious and on the table in 30 minutes flat!  This recipe is suitable for Atkins Induction phase, Keto diets and Primal fans.  Paleo followers will want to use coconut milk instead of the cream.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS. She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try. Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein. I do so because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


3 oz. bacon (about 3 slices)

3 c. leeks, diced, loosely packed (this was 1 large one)

3½ c. homemade chicken broth

1 c. water

1 c. heavy cream

¼ tsp. sea salt

1/8 tsp. black pepper

Dash of your favorite thickener if not thick enough for you

DIRECTIONS:  Brown the bacon in a 4 qt. soup pot.  Remove bacon to paper towel.  Crumble when cooled. Add the leeks to the hot bacon grease and stir-fry until they are tender (about 5 minutes).  Add the chicken broth and water.  Next add salt and pepper.  Bring to boil and lower to a simmer for 10 minutes to allow flavors to co-mingle.  Add the cream.  Either using a blender/food processor or stick blender, pulse/puree almost to a smooth cream.  The cream when whipped will likely thicken right up.  If not, dust in a wee bit of your favorite thickener and stir a few minutes to allow it to thicken on up.  I used a very light dusting of xanthan gum.  When it has thickened up, serve with some of the bacon crumbles on top.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes approximately six 1½ c. servings, each contains:

280 calories

23 g  fat

7.66 g carbs, 0.96 g  fiber, 6.70 g  NET CARBS

7.16 g  protein

239 mg sodium


5 comments on “Cream of Leek Soup

  1. I went to school in upstate NY years and years ago. The nuns served cream of farina (similar) soup and it was one of the few things in my life I couldn’t gag down. It was truly terrible.


  2. That’s a great story, Peggy; it made me laugh. Spousal trust is a beautiful thing! (And so is your, um, Cream of… well, you know, SOUP!)


Leave a Comment

