Sloppy Joes

Sloppy Joes

Sloppy Joes

Sloppy Joes have always been a comfort food for me and my husband.  These came out great!  I just started throwing things into the pot because I wasn’t sure what all to add, since I used to use one of those envelope seasoning mixes in my former life to make my Sloppy Joes.  Well, I guess I grabbed the right things, because my husband gave these Sloppy Joes a two thumbs up.  Not too juicy; respectable enough carb count to have them on the rare occasion.

Now I didn’t exactly use the lowest carb bun recipe I have for these.  You can trim the carbs a bit using a lower carb bun than the Einkorn Sandwich Buns we used tonight.  It’s what I already had baked and ready to eat.  For this reason, I’m providing nutritional info for the meat mixture separately.  This would only be suitable for Atkins Induction if you use a Flax bun or a Muffin in a Minute (without sweetener and cinnamon, of course).  Ok for Keto Diets on a plan-suitable bun, provided you can fit the carbs into your daily limit.   Only Paleo-Primal suitable on a plan acceptable bun and if you use honey instead of the sweetener.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS. She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try. Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not receive money for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein. I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


2 lb. ground beef (I used 1# grass-fed beef 90% lean + 1# regular beef, as I ran out of grass-fed beef)

3 oz. onion, chopped

1  6-oz. can tomato paste

1 c. water

¼-½ c. apple cider vinegar (or whatever you have)

½ c. red bell pepper, chopped

1 tsp. your favorite sweetener

¼ tsp. sea salt

¼ tsp. black pepper

Dash cayenne pepper

½ tsp. paprika

NOTE: You will need 8 of my 3″ Einkorn Sandwich Buns (linked in paragraph above) or 8 buns of your choosing.

DIRECTIONS:  Brown the ground beef over high heat in a large non-stick pan (I used a non-stick wok).  Add the onion and bell pepper and saute the two together until meat is browned and veggies are pretty tender.  Drain grease off if excessive (I did not have to).  Add tomato paste and stir in until evenly distributed.  Add water and stir.  I suggest adding half the vinegar to start out as you may not like yours as tangy as we do.  Stir well.  Add all the spices and lower heat to lowest setting.  Simmer with a lid on the pot, stirring often to prevent sticking.  Only add remaining vinegar if you like things tangy.  Low simmer for about 30 minutes for vinegar to develop fully and flavors to co-mingle.

I like to split and toast my buns and spoon the meat mixture over both halves.  Your call on whether you want to toast or not toast.  Dip about 2/3 cup meat mixture over each bun/serving.

NUTRITIONAL INFO (Meat Mixture alone):  Make 8 portions 2/3 cup each.  Each portion (1/8 batch) has:

246 calories, 15.4 g  fat, 5.65 g  carbs, 1.23 g  fiber, 4.42 g  NET CARBS, 22 g  protein, 301 mg sodium

NUTRITIONAL INFO (Meat + Einkorn Bun):  One complete Sloppy Joe contains:

493 calories, 32.4 g  fat, 21.65 g  carbs, 12.41 g  fiber, 9.24 g  NET CARBS, 32.3 g  protein, 609 mg sodium

Leave a Comment

