Artichoke Salad

Italian Artichoke Salad

Artichoke Salad

My husband is very fond of salads so we often fix salad for our main course at lunch.  This low-carb, low-cal number is both tasty and filling and only takes minutes to make.  It is delicious and I think you will enjoy it!  You can use pitted calamata olives here if you prefer.  This is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets, and Primal-Paleo as well.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS. She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try. Several of my own creations appear in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or our direct order site:

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not accept payment for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein. I do


1 14-oz. can artichoke hearts, drained

15 pitted black olives (or calamata olives)

1 Roma plum tomato, cut up into chunks (use 2 if they are pretty small)

5 fresh basil leaves, torn into several pieces

Dash of granulated garlic or minced dried onion

¼ tsp. your favorite Italian Seasonings (I use Victoria Gourmet’s Sicilian Seasoning)

Dash each salt and black pepper

1 T. a good balsamic vinaigrette

1 T. good quality extra virgin olive oil

DIRECTIONS:  Open and drain the artichoke hearts.  Add them to a medium bowl. You can cut them in halves if you prefer (I did).  In a small dish, add the olive oil to the vinaigrette and stir.  Add the seasonings and stir once more.  Now add the cut-up tomato and olives to the artichokes.  Stir to mix.  Tear the basil leaves into small bits and add.   Add the vinaigrette mixture, toss lightly and chill for 1 hour.  Serve as a side salad or as an entree.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 side servings, each contains:  (if serving as an entree, serves 2 with double the numbers below in each)

101 calories

7.8 g  fat

7.60 g  carbs, 3.55 g  fat, 4.05 g  NET CARBS

2.2 g  protein

34 mg sodium (more if using calamata olives)

12 comments on “Artichoke Salad

  1. Soooo I asked MasterCook Tech Support about the issue and this was her reply:
    “Pam Erickson (MasterCook Support)
    Aug 18, 11:31
    It’s because of the https in the URL. That website should not need https. Not sure why it’s using it. It should just be http. It sounds like it used to be http and was working fine then. An https website is only needed when it requires you to log in. I do not find I have to log into that website, so it should not use https. Perhaps you can get them to fix that.”

    Since I don’t know how the Word Press thing works, I’m just passing her comment along in case that’s the answer.


    • What the lady says at Mastecook isn’t exactly wrong, but is soon to be dated thinking with regards to URL’s. WordPress says the ENTIRE internet in the fairly near future is moving toward the HTTPS URL format (heretofore only used by banks and log-in purchasing-type websites using confidential credit card info and such requiring more secure webpages/servers) and WordPress is simply wanting to be cutting edge and do it ahead of the game. so they went on and changed their entire security systems to use exclusively the HTTPS urls ahead of many other websites. Don’t feel rained on at Mastercook, however, as it causes a lot of problems for me with my links at Facebook, too, as they haven’t made the changeover yet either. But it’s coming at a theater near them soon, too. But I truly am sorry it causes importing/printing problems for Mastercook users.


    • Nice to be sticking my toes in the water of blogging once again. Not finding a lot of time each day, but a little window through which I can see daylight to cook a bit and post a few. I hope you’ll try this salad. It’s truly delicious!


    • Sorry about that, Jan. Try what they said last time. If that doesn’t work, I suspect MasterCook is updating their software, since the fix DID work for you for awhile, and WP can’t keep up with MC’s constant software changes. I’m not so sure it couldn’t also be something else on your system, as you are the first (and only) person to have the issue, at least that has mentioned issues. If you installed Windows 10 on the Microsoft free upgrade offer recently, it might not be compatible with MasterCook in combination with WordPress. They said Win10 isn’t compatible with all softwares out there. I installed Win10 2 days ago and it crashed my Firewall. Had to revert to Win7 and uninstall/reinstall my firewall. Grrrrrr!


      • The fix from last time doesn’t work anymore. I don’t have Win10, but who knows what the problem might be? And it definitely isn’t your job to fix my MC issues. I really appreciate that you wet to so much trouble to fix it the last time — and who knows — it might just go away as quickly as it appeared. Welcome back anyway! Glad to have your recipes appearing again.


        • Thanks for the welcome back! I’m not able to post as often as I’m still unpacking and getting my old house ready for putting it on the market. But I’m enjoying cooking once again. Stay tuned, my dear. 🙂


Leave a Comment

