Lemon Cookies

Lemon Cookies

Lemon Cookies

One of my favorite cookies!  These bite-size treats are low in carbs, so you can have several without feeling guilty.  These are not suitable until you are  well into Phase 2 Atkins OWL.  They can be fit into a Keto plan and Primal followers can enjoy them as well.

INGREDIENTS: 

1 recipe my Almond Butter Cookies dough

Lemon zest from 2 lemons

Juice of 1 lemon

DIRECTIONS:   Mix up the Almond Butter Cookie recipe per that recipe’s instructions.  Add in the lemon zest and juice and stir well.  I decided to make molded cookies with some silicone molds with 1¼” slots.  Molds help me keep my cookies uniform in size.  But you can just dip up about 1″ ball of dough and shape in a ball and place on non-stick sheet pans.  Press the balls of dough slightly to make them a bit flatter (or to fill your mold to the edges of the slots).  Pop into your preheated 350º oven for about 7-8 minutes or until lightly browned.  These are delicate while hot, so cool them completely before removing from molds or your sheet pan.  The browner you get them the chewier they are when completely cooled.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 36 small cookies, each contains:

80 calories

7.05 g  fat

3.23 g  carbs, 1.59 g  fiber, 1.64 g  NET CARBS

1.98 g protein

375 mg sodium

8 comments on “Lemon Cookies

  1. I just started eating Paleo a few weeks ago. Are all of your recipes considered Paleo or Paleo that allows milk? Newbie here. If they are, you may just be my new favorite blog. Trying a significant lifestyle change.

    Like

    • No, I’m an Atkins low carber and we eat dairy. I tried Whole30 Paleo for 4 months and didn’t like using coconut milk for all my cream sauces nor in my coffee. So I switched back to Atkins where I began and where I’m happiest. If a diet is to be successful for you, you have to like it enough to FOLLOW and STICK with it.

      Only those recipes in the Priman-Paleo category at the right are suitable for Paleo and primal. Paleo does not allow dairy and I try to state in the recipe intro which ones in this category are not suitable for Paleo. Primal Blueprint allows occasional but limited dairy. I’m glad you’re seeing recipes you like here, Qualitytimes7. I have nearly 1000 on site now, so browse awhile. You’d be surprised how many of them are OK for Primal and Paleo followers.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s Keto Plan, eating a ketogenic diet. Phase II Atkins OWL is phase 2 of the Atkins plan, Ongoing Weight Loss…the Atkins Diet – it has phases. Primal (eating like our ancestors way back when), another way of eating (WOE). If you look under the top heading Buttoni’s Low Carb Recipes, you’ll see “900+ recipes for Atkins and Ketogenic Lifestyles”.

    Like

  3. WHAT IS A KETO PAN? AND “WELL INTO PHASE II ATKINS OWL”? AND “PRIMAL FOLLOWERS”? WHAT ON EARTH ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT? BETTER YET, WHAT COUNTRY ARE YOU FROM? THE COOKIES SOUND WONDERFUL AND I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE SOME, BUT MY FRIENDS WILL ASK ME THE SAME QUESTIONS I’M ASKING YOU NOW. NOT JOKING, I’M SERIOUS. THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR RECIPE.

    Like

    • If you truly are “serious”, the all-caps shouting and somewhat sarcastic tone of your question is a bit off-putting, Roberta, and frankly doesn’t much entice me to want to reply. But I try not to be rude to my readers or anybody for that matter. Perhaps you are totally unfamiliar with these terms, but they are commonly used in the low-carbing community and ketogenic world. The term “Ketogenic” or KETO for short, is what a low-carb diet is all about. It is when one switches from a carb-burning metabolism to a fat-burning metabolism. Paleo diets are well-known and Primal diets are simply Paleo that permits occasional dairy. I really can’t go into all of it here as this is a recipe site and not an nutritional education site as so many blogs fill that gap. I have tried hard to keep this site JUST RECIPES. Please Google any unfamiliar terms. all that said, these cookies came out great and I think you will like them if you decide to give them a go. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Comment

