Sausage Breakfast Focaccia

It's gluten-free, too!!

To quote the bard, “a sausage biscuit by any other name……” would taste as sweet.  :)  A tasty new way to use my wonderful gluten-free focaccia bread recipe.   You’ll be happy to know you CANNOT taste the flax meal in this bread either!

TIP:  If you are not gluten-free, I find 1 T. oat fiber improves this bread’s taste and texture greatly.  But remember, if you add it, OAT FIBER IS NOT GLUTEN FREE.

This recipe is suitable for Phase 2 Atkins, Keto diets, Primal folks if consumed only occasionally.  This bread would not be suitable for Paleo.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends. Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love! Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site:

DISCLAIMER: I do not accept payment for book promotions. I do so because they are GREAT cookbooks anyone would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


½ c. almond flour

¼ c. golden flax meal

¼ c. plain whey protein powder

1 tsp. baking powder

3 T. cream cheese, softened

2 large eggs, beaten

1 c. grated Monterrey Jack cheese

½ c. grated Mozzarella cheese

1 tsp. cider vinegar

1 T. heavy cream

1 T. water

1 tsp. yeast dissolved in 1 T. warm water (optional, for flavor only)

1 T. oat fiber (optional)

TOPPING:   5 oz. browned sausage + 1 c. more shredded cheese of your choice

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Soften cream cheese in medium mixing bowl in microwave.  Beat in the eggs, cream, water, vinegar, both cheeses and dissolved yeast (if using).  Measure and add in all the dry ingredients and stir well with a rubber spatula. Line a sheet pan with parchment paper.  You can also use a non-stick pan.  I would not recommend silicone, as this won’t brown as nicely on your Silpat.  Scrap the batter onto the prepared pan, spreading it as evenly as possible with the spatula into a rectangle that is roughly 10″x13″.  Batter will be about ¼” thick.  Sprinkle on cooked sausage and then the mozzarella shreds.  Lightly press down on the toppings so they embed slightly into the batter.  Pop pan into 350º oven and bake for about 15-20 minutes or until dry to the touch in center and lightly browned on the edges.  .  Cool a few minutes and cut evenly into 9 slices and enjoy!  When totally cool, store in plastic bag in your refrigerator.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Entire sheet contains:  2113 calories, 164 g fat, 30.6 g carbs, 13.8 g fiber, 16.8 g net carbs, 142 g protein, 3334 mg sodium  (divide by number of servings you cut)

If cut into 9 portions, each serving would contain:

235 calories

18.2 g  fat

3.4 g  carbs, 1.53 g  fiber, 1.87 g  NET CARBS

15.73 g  protein

370 mg sodium

6 comments on “Sausage Breakfast Focaccia

  1. Peggy, just a note to say I finally found you again! I loved your posts on the Low Carb website until they stopped the forum. You had helped me a few times when I asked questions, and I appreciated that! But I couldn’t remember your name until just now when I spotted your comment on a 3-year-old post at I’ve subscribed now, so I’m happy again!

    And what a day to find you — this recipe looks perfect for me for make-ahead breakfasts! Now I’ll be perusing your website for awhile to see what I’ve missed. Thank you!


    • I didn’t realize they had stopped the About low-carb forum. Glad you re-found my site, too, Wendy. I just got so busy posting for Jen Eloff on her LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS Facebook page, I kinda stopped visiting there and pretty much all my fav forums. I pop in at Low-Carb Friends forums occasionally, but only about once a month. Jen graciously includes my recipes in all her recent cookbooks and I owe her big time for the exposure on her very popular FB page. You might also like this recipe, which was supper yummy and has millions of FB fans:


      • Thanks, I do like that Breakfast Sticks recipe. I’ll be trying it as soon as I get some more eggs. (Can’t believe I’m out of eggs!)

        And thanks for the FB group suggestion. I didn’t know it was there. What I had planned for this morning is totally forgotten now! So many recipes, so little time! My grocery list is growing.


  2. The recipe sounds delightful and very good (as well as easy). It strikes me that under the Directions the instructions “Line a sheet pan either with parchment paper.” are incomplete.

    Thank you and cheers


    • Oh, thank you. I’ll go fix that. I had originally said “or silicone sheet”, but it doesn’t brown as nicely on silicone as on parchment and went back in for an edit and didn’t re-check that good enough.


Leave a Comment

