Sour Cream & Chive Chicken

Sou Cream & Chive Chicken

Tonight I was craving something creamy for the leftover grilled chicken breast I found in the freezer.  My first thought was sour cream enchiladas, but woe is me, no green chilis in the house.  Then my thoughts turned to sour cream and chives and BINGO!  This came out quite delicious!!  Since I’m still having back issues, I didn’t use the homemade Corn Tortillas I would have preferred to use.  Taking alll kinds of short cuts in the kitchen these days.  I feel certain the corn tortillas would have been better. But I did have some Mission low-carb flour tortillas in the fridge and took the easy way out tonight.

Only change I will make next time, I drained my mushrooms off this time.  This dish is real rich and creamy with dairy, but I will not drain them next time, as I would like it a little more moisture.  I am writing the recipe accordingly so yours will come out just perfect!   My husband said this is definitely a keeper!  I think so, too!  It was so yummy!

NOTE:  I used real onion chives from the garden in this recipe.  Green onion, if subbed in, will have quite a different flavor…..more intense.  Your call.   This recipe is not suitable for Induction.  I would recommend waiting until you are close to goal weight if using the higher carb flour tortillas as the carbs nearly DOUBLE with the flour tortillas (probably around 7-8 carbs per serving).  If using my homemade corn tortillas, you can enjoy this tasty recipe in Phase 2 Atkins as soon as you reach the grains level of the carb re-introduction ladder. 🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS. She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and other wonderful cooks to bring you a wealth of recipes you will love! Some of my low-carb creations appear in each of the 5 volumes! Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site:

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not accept payment for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein. I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1  large grilled chicken breast (11 oz. deboned meat), skin on, cut into small pieces

5  my homemade Corn Tortillas , cut to 1″x¼” strips

3 oz. cream cheese, softened

3/4 c. sour cream

Dash salt and black pepper

1  4-oz can sliced mushrooms, with juice (if using fresh mushrooms, add 1/4 c. cream to recipe)

1/3 c. fresh chives, chopped  (or green onion)

1 c. shredded Monterrey Jack cheese (or mozzarella)

DIRECTIONS: Cut up chicken meat (leave skin on) and lay evenly in the bottom of a lightly oiled medium casserole dish.  Preheat oven to 350º.  In a medium bowl, soften cream cheese and stir until creamy smooth.  Stir in the sour cream, chives and mushroom juice.   Add salt and pepper and stir again.  Spread the sour cream mixture over the chicken evenly.  Sprinkle the cut up tortillas on top next.  Layer the mushroom slices evenly next.  Top with shredded cheese.

Lightly cover with foil and bake at 350º for about 30 minutes, removing the foil the last 5-10 minutes so any tortilla pieces peeking out will lightly brown and crisp up.  Serve with your favorite green vegetable or salad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 6 servings, each contains:  (using my homemade corn tortillas)

383 calories

29.5 g fat

5.83 g carbs, 1.48 g fiber, 4.35 g NET CARBS

24.5 g protein

5.84 g sodium


2 comments on “Sour Cream & Chive Chicken

  1. It was delicious, Robin. I’ve always been a fan of sour cream and onion chips, so this just fit right in for me.🙂 Hope you’ll try it and would love your feedback if you do.


Leave a Comment

