Beef & Turnip “Hash”

Beef Hash Yet again my husband, the walking paradox, demonstrated tonight I don’t think he knows WHAT he likes and doesn’t like when it comes to food.  He always tells me he hates turnips.  When we used to belong to a vegetable coop in Galveston, he said “I hope nobody buys carrots when it’s their turn to be buyer.  And don’t YOU bring a case of them home either!”

Well, I whipped up a batch of hash for dinner tonight from leftover beef brisket  and 3 small turnips I had in the fridge and it was so good, he PIGGED OUT on this stuff!  He ate two big helpings!  And he knew it was turnips!  I had forewarned him he might prefer to make himself a sandwich for dinner as he probably wasn’t going to like the dinner I prepared, seeing as it had turnip in it.

I have to say, the turnips almost tasted exactly like potatoes in this to me.  Just slightly sweet, but that may have been my caramelized onion and not the turnips at all. :)  I added the slice of bacon for added flavor, as that’s not enough to make this a high-sodium dinner.  I really have to watch my sodium intake as I’m quite sensitive to it.  Of course, you can add more bacon if you wish.  Cut back on the added bacon grease if you do.

This delicious dish is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets, Primal and Paleo as well.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends.  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site:

DISCLAIMER: I do not accept payment for this book promotion. I promote the books because they are GREAT cookbooks anyone would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 thick (or 2 thin) slice bacon, coarsely cut up

2 T. bacon grease (omit if using extra bacon)

8 oz. leftover beef roast, cut in ½” cubes (with leftover gravy if any. I had just 1/4 cup)

3 small turnips (about 6 oz.), peeled, cut in ½” cubes

3 oz. onion, chopped

½ bouillon cube dissolved in ½ c. water if you have no gravy or not enough.

Pinch of coarse black pepper

DIRECTIONS:  Chop meat, turnips and onion on cutting board and set aside.   Place chopped bacon in non-stick pan and begin to fry to a half-cooked stage on high heat.  Add the bacon grease when the bacon is half done.  Add the turnips and stir-fry until they begin to brown.  Add diced roast and onion last and saute until all is browning and getting pretty much done.   You want ½-3/4 c. gravy/broth total.  When hash is nearly done, lower heat to medium-high and add about 1/3 of the gravy/broth mixture to the pan.    Simmer turning often until that has nearly evaporated. Add another 1/3 of the gravy/broth mixture and again simmer and turn hash until most of it has evaporated.  Add the last of the liquid mixture only if you feel the hash needs further cooking.  All should be fully cooked through and the flavors well co-mingled.  Sprinkle with coarse black pepper and serve at once with your favorite green side dish.  I served mine with a small spinach salad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:  (using 1 slice bacon)

283 calories

21 g fat

4.45 g carbs, 1.0 g fiber, 3.45 g NET CARBS

17.5 g protein

130 mg sodium


Leave a Comment

