Baked “Potato”

Baked Potato

Shown with an Achiote (also called annatto) Mexican spiced beef patty and steamed squash with onions (my husbands favorite)

I wish I could take credit for this recipe, but another low-carber brought this cooked wonder up on one of my low-carb forum discussions.  I like to use moderately large turnips for this recipe.  Man, oh man!  This tastes JUST like a sweet, baked red-skinned potato!  No taste of turnip to me at all!  Now this comment is coming from someone who for YEARS picked the turnips out of the turnip green pot; who didn’t care for turnips stir-fried much either, because the bitterness often seen in turnips came out more in boiling and frying methods of cooking, in my opinion.  But I tell you, the way to cook these things is to microwave them!!!  No taste of turnip at all!   Just the creamy, sweet taste of a buttery red potato!

I did not care for these baked in a conventional oven.  And my husband, who detests turnips even agreed they don’t taste like turnips cooked this way!  So now you can have a baked “potato” with those grilled steaks!  I’m soooooo delighted to have discovered this method of cooking turnips!  This “potato” recipe is Induction friendly!

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

NOTE:  You DO NOT want to eat the turnip peeling.   They are quite bitter.  You just eat the soft inside part of this “potato”. 🙂


4  whole 4-5 oz. turnips (or two larger ones if you can find them)

8 tsp. butter (2 tsp. allowed for each turnip/serving) (more if you like)


Wash and scrub the turnips under running water.  Trip the stem end flat and cut the point off the tip of the turnip as well.  Poke the turnip skin several times to avoid rupturing during cooking.  Place on microwave turntable.  Cook on HI for about 3 minutes.  Turn over and cook on HI for about 3 more minutes.     They should be thoroughly soft when done.  Split and place 2 tsp. butter on each turnip (or more if you can afford the fat grams).  You can also add the traditional baked potato toppings like sour cream, cheese, bacon bits and chives/green onion.  Those additions, however, are not calculated in the nutritional info below.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Serves 2, each serving contains:

230 calories

20.5 g  fat

11.2 g  carbs, 4.4 g  fiber, 6.8 g NET CARBS (not bad for a baked “potato” with your steak!)

1.7 g  protein

60.2 mg sodium

4 comments on “Baked “Potato”

    • I just cook mine in the skin (but don’t eat the skin, as it’s bitter). I just fork out the buttery goodness like I eat real baked potatoes. Mmmm. Hope you like these!🙂


    • 🙂 I do sometimes. My fave way to fix it is to saute it over slow heat in a skillet, with caramelizing onions (in bacon grease, of course). That’s true Southern style squash like my Mom made all her life. But the hubs likes it just like in the photo best, so we take turns on how it gets made. This night it was “his turn” to pick. LOL


Leave a Comment

