Tuna-Cheese Stuffed Mini Peppers

Tuna-Cheese Stuffed Mini Peppers

I have been seeing mini bell peppers of late in the stores and find them so cute and colorful I decided to buy some this week.  Decided on a tuna stuffing for them.  The tuna and cheese flavors here play nicely with the sweet edge of the peppers.  The touch of cayenne pepper give them just a little bite.  Omit that if you don’t like spicy food, but this amount isn’t very hot to me, as I don’t like real spicy foods myself.   These are suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets if the carbs will fit your daily limits.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and friends.  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of his delicious recipes!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site: http://amongfriends.us/order.php.DISCLAIMER: I do not accept payment for this book promotion. I promote the books because they are GREAT cookbooks anyone would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


14  small sweet mini bell peppers (red, yellow, orange)

1½ c. shredded Cheddar cheese (I used a mixture of Cheddar and American Deluxe)

3 oz. softened cream cheese

1/8 tsp. red cayenne pepper

6.2 oz. tuna, oil pack (I use the foil pouch)

VARIATION:  Instead of cayenne, use 1 tsp. Tobasco brand Chipotle Hot Sauce

DIRECTIONS:  Bring a 4 qt. pot of water to boil.  Cut stem end off peppers and seed with the point of a knife. Cut in halves lengthwise.  Plunge them in the boiling water for 2 minutes just to soften just a bit.

Line a baking sheet with parchment.  Preheat oven to 350º.  In a medium bowl, soften cream cheese on a covered paper plate in your microwave set on defrost for about 20 seconds.   Add the Cheddar cheese, cayenne and tuna.  Mix well, blending with a fork.  Using your fork, fill each half with about 1-1½ tablespoons of the filling.  Place them on the paper covered pan.  Pop pan into 350º oven for about 10 minutes just long enough to melt the cheese and they barely begin to brown.  Serve hot!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 28 pieces, 4 pieces per serving and each serving contains:

202 calories

14.14 g fat

3.98 g carbs, 0.67 g fiber, 3.31 NET CARBS  (just under 1 carb per piece!)

14.3 g protein

267 mg sodium

9 comments on “Tuna-Cheese Stuffed Mini Peppers

  1. P.S. Appreciate your blog recipes. I have followed a low-carb diet in maintenance since around 1999. It is the only way of eating that has ever successfully helped me lose and maintain weight loss, and I have PCOS – which means insulin issues – and low carb helps with this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Low carb helps with so many health issues, doesn’t it? I’m currently trying a carb-cycling variation where I eat ultra low-carb 6 days a week (under 20 net carbs) and then eat heavy carbs 1 day a week but only in a 6 hour window in the evening. It’s supposed to help stabilize the leptin/grelin metabolic hormones as well as simultaneously correct insulin resistance (if present) and repair a badly damaged metabolism from years of yo-yo dieting. I’ve been low-carbing since 2009. Just started this new carb-cycling regimen a month ago, and it’s really too soon to tell if it’s going to help me break a 6-year stall. But I think it just might work. It’s based on the body’s innate ability to readjust it’s needs and usage of fuel based on availability of macronutrients and keeping that incredibly strong ability to thwart our dieting efforts. I’ve lost 8 pounds so far in my first month of weekly cycling so I think it is confusing my set-point system quite nicely so far. We’ll see if it lets me continue downward on the scale. I have 40# I still want to lose.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for telling me about this carb-cycling! Having followed low-carb maintenance for so long, I think I have gotten slack. Too many carbs sneaking in. I am cutting to < 20 a day for a couple weeks. Will decide what to do after that. I'd love an update if carb-cycling continues to work for you and breaks the stall. Years ago I could never get lower than a certain weight no matter what.


        • I picked up a used copy of Carbs At Nite by Kiefer on Amazon for 9 bucks. It’s worth a read. He’s supposed to be working on a newer book with basically the same theory but changing his position of a required “break” for a couple months after doing it for 6 mos. at a time. Of course, that break may be necessary for those of us who have so well-honed our metabolism to fight us and recognize every tact we take in our attempts to lose weight. The break is to thwart the more clever bodies from even figuring out the carb cycling!


  2. I’ve simply filled these mini-peppers with cream cheese, and bake in oven for a few minutes. I usually sprinkle some garlic/onion powder on them.


Leave a Comment

