Kielbasa and Cabbage Bake


This is my variation on a theme.  I had this dish a number of times when I was growing up but I was not very fond of it back then, as Mom always got hers too tart with vinegar for my palate.  This recipe is just right on the tang and spice combination. And the onions in mine add a sweet edge as well!  We have made it this way several times now and we both just love this dish now!  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets, Primal and Paleo programs as well.

Many delicious low-carb recipes like this can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends (me included).  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon  or our direct order site: DISCLAIMER:  By personal choice, I do not accept payment for this book promotion. I promote them because they are great cookbooks anyone would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


5 links Kielbasa or smoked sausage, sliced (I use Meyer’s from Elgin, TX)

3 ox. slivered yellow onion

¼ c. my homemade Shawarma Mayo

¼ c. my Balsamic Vinaigrette (or Italian dressing)

6 c. green cabbage, chopped coarsely

1/8 tsp. coarse black pepper

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  In a large skillet over high heat, partially brown the sausage slices. When almost done, add the slivered onion and saute until the onion softens a bit and releases its sugar.  Turn off heat.  Chop the cabbage and stir it into the meat-onion mixture.  In a small bowl, mix the mayo and vinaigrette, stirring well to blend.   Using a rubber spatula, scrape the mayo mixture onto the cabbage.  Add a couple shakes coarse black pepper and stir to blend well.  I positioned the sausage above for photographic impact, but that is not necessary.

Cover tightly with foil and pop skillet into oven for 30 minutes.  Remove foil and bake for about 15 more minutes until just slightly brown on top.  I think you will love this dish as much as we do!  I like to serve this with a tomato-cucumber salad or broiled tomatoes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

438 calories, 45 g fat, 10.17 g carbs, 3.95 g fiber, 7.22 g NET CARBS, 17.3 g protein, 566 mg sodium

Leave a Comment

