Peggy’s Texas Chili

Peggy's Texas Chili

Since chili has to simmer quite awhile for the flavors to blend, I like to make big batches.  This recipe makes 8 large bowls.  The nutritional info is calculated with the can of Eden black soy beans, making the recipe as written unacceptable for Induction.  If you omit the beans, as many may prefer, this chili recipe is perfectly OK for Atkins Induction!  I’ve never had a die-hard Texas back away from my chili, so I hope you’ll give this one a try.🙂

You non-bean chili folks, here’s one reader’s story I think you’ll appreciate:

It cracks me up every time I hear someone say that real Texas Chili doesn’t have beans and/or tomatoes in it. My granddaddy was a true old world cowboy, he did one of the last real cattle drives from South Texas up into Nebraska and I well remember him talking about the food that their “Texan” Cookie served and chili WITH beans was a mainstay on the trail. Tomatoes were added when available.

I use several different chile peppers in this recipe, but each has a distinctive flavor they bring to the chili, in my opinion.   Of course, you can change the peppers called for herein, if you can’t get some of them, but in doing so, you will definitely change the final flavor.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with  low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

Here are some pics of the peppers I use in my chili:

Ancho

Guajillo

INGREDIENTS:

Serrano

3 lb. ground beef

4 oz. onion, chopped

6 cloves garlic, minced

2   4 oz. cans chopped green chiles

1  10 oz. can tomatoes with green chiles (I use Rotel mild)

1  14.5 oz. can diced/crushed tomatoes, no-salt

3 c. water

1 T. chili powder (I use ½ Bolner’s Fiesta and ½ Chimayo pictured below right)

½ tsp. ancho chili powder (or ¼ dried ancho pepper, seeded, chopped) 

2 tsp. ground cumin

1  dried Guajillo chile pepper, seeded and chopped

1 Serrano pepper, seeded and chopped (or Jalapeno pepper)

2 tomatillos, skin removed and chopped

1 c. cilantro, chopped

1 oz. tomato paste

1  14.5 oz. can Eden Black Soy Beans with liquid (optional, OMIT for Induction)

DIRECTIONS: Over medium-high heat, brown meat and onion in large stew pot.  When done, add all remaining ingredients.  After the chili comes to a boil, reduce fire to lowest setting, cover tightly and simmer for 1-2 hours (the longer the better, so the tomatoes literally cook apart into the liquid).  Stir often to avoid scorching on the bottom of the pan.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 8 servings, each contains:  (these numbers include the optional beans, as I don’t care for chili without them)

540 calories, 32 g  fat, 10.6 g carbs, 4.73 g fiber, 5.87 g NET CARBS (less without the beans), 49.5 g protein, 935 mg sodium

4 comments on “Peggy’s Texas Chili

  1. Just and FYI, the bottle of chili powder pictured on the right does not say Bolners. I believe it say Fiesta brand.
    Don’t think I’ve ever heard of Bolners.

    Like

    • That’s because the company that makes the “Fiesta” line of spices IS Bolner’s. The back side of the label reads Bolner’s Fiesta Products, Inc. In Texas markets, you’ll see spices on the shelf under both names, but most are under their umbrella/popular name of Fiesta. The last time my brother was in Texas, he bought a bottle of it in San Antonio (he said he couldn’t get it in Seattle and thought it was the best) and it still showed their older label Bolner’s. He picked it up and I commented I’d never seen/tried that type of chili powder. He was the one that pointed out it was the same stuff. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • OH, OK!!! Sorry. But I’m glad I brought it out, so that others know.
        It’s so hard when the same products are labeled under different names.🙂 That’s good to know!

        Like

        • 🙂 No problem. I’m glad you pointed it out. I get so used to thinking some of my references are common knowledge and I should know better. I have now specified that in the ingredient list, too. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

