Einkorn Apricot-Cherry-Brazil Nut Bread

Einkorn Apricot-Cherry-Brazil Nut Bread

I’m planning on making this again for my Christmas dessert tray this year.  One of my mother’s favorite recipes. To give credit where it is due, this basic low-carb sweet bread batter was inspired by a Basic Quick Bread recipe at Sugar Free Low Carb Recipes website.   I added vanilla, sweetener, baking powder and glucomannan powder and I believe the smooth texture is now perfect.  No crumbling!  You can vary the fruit, berries and nuts in this but you will have to recalculate the carbs for any changes.  This recipe is suitable once you get to  Atkins Phase 2 OWL or farther.  If you require gluten-free, you will have to omit the Einkorn and sub in the same amount of “oat flour” ground from 100% certified gluten-free oats.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

INGREDIENTS:

IMG_4370

Slight rise in 8″x5″ loaf pan.

1/3 c. coconut flour

1/3 c. almond flour

1/3 c. Einkorn flour (or low-carb bake mix if unavailable)

¼ tsp. sea salt

1 T. glucomannan powder

1½ tsp. baking powder

Stevia equivalent for ½ c. sugar (I used ¼ c. Steviva, a blend of erithritol & stevia)

1 stick (1/2 c.) unsalted butter, melted

1 tsp. vanilla

8 large eggs, beaten

½ c. chopped dried apricots

½ c. unsweetened dried cherries, chopped (I dehydrate my own)

½ c. chopped Brazil nuts.

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease a loaf pan.  I use a standard aluminum loaf pan.  I can get fourteen approximately ½”slices out of the loaf.  Mix dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl. Melt butter and add to bowl.  Also add vanilla and the eggs and beat until you have a smooth batter.  Use an electric mixer if necessary, but I did not find I needed to do that.  Fold in your desired fruit, nuts or flavorings and stir well.   Spoon batter into greased pan, level with a spoon and bake at 350º for 40-45 minutes or until a toothpick stuck into center comes out slightly damp (this cake is THAT moist), but clean of any batter.  Cool a bit, slice into fourteen ½” slices (or to lower carbs, cut into 16 slices for 6.23 net carbs per slice).

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 14 servings, each contains: (numbers are specific for apricots, cherries and brazil nuts.  Recalculate for other additives).  Cutting into 16 slices reduces count to 6.23 g. net carbs.

122.3 calories, 8.59 g  fat, 8.9 g  carbs, 1.96 g  fiber, 6.94 g  NET CARBS, 5.64 g  protein, 124 mg sodium

3 comments on “Einkorn Apricot-Cherry-Brazil Nut Bread

  1. This comment is not about this post’s recipe, but a low-carb drink I stumbled upon. I saw a carton of “slender soy milk” chocolate flavored on a clearance shelf. I have never drank these alternative milks like soy or almond. But the chocolate flavor caught my eye, and it said only 1 gm net carbs. No added sugar, sweetened with splenda, 5 carbs minus 4 for fiber. I was suspicious it would taste bad, but it was surprisingly good! My spouse thought so too. I’d buy it again, and it could satisfy a sweet craving.

    Like

Leave a Comment

