Creamy, Smoky Chicken Casserole

creamy-smoky-chicken-casserole

This delicious casserole evolved from several packages I call “last of this vegetable” that were staring at me in the fridge when I went to start making dinner.  Despite that fact, this was an amazingly good dinner!  It’s also very nutritious with the kale added, which was an after thought, actually.  Since I was afraid this dish wouldn’t be very photogenic, I decided at the last minute to make my Savory Casserole Topping for the top.  GOOD decision, as it also added flavor to the simple flavor profile of this dish!  This recipe is suitable once you get to phase 2 of Atkins.  Omit the topping and you Induction folks can enjoy this as well.  This recipe is not suited for Primal or Paleo followers due to the dairy in it.

Many delicious low-carb recipes like this can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends (me included).  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon  or our direct order site: amongfriends.us/order.php.

INGREDIENTS:

½ medium head cauliflower, stemmed and chopped to 3/4-1″ pieces (about 2½ cups)

2 T. coconut oil

3 oz. onion, chopped

2 large carrots, sliced or chopped

1 c. my low-carb Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup

2 T. cream cheese

3/4 c. heavy (whipping) cream

2 c. cooked chicken meat, chopped (I left skin on mine)

3 oz. Smoked Gouda cheese, shredded

Dash black pepper

1 leaf raw kale, stemmed, chopped fine (about 3/4 c. loose-pack)

½ recipe of my Savory Casserole Topping

DIRECTIONS:  Make the casserole topping per that recipe’s instructions (click blue link above).  Set aside. Preheat oven to 350º.

In a medium saucepan, cover cauliflower with water and boil only until half tender.  While it is cooking, heat oil over high heat in non-stick large skillet (I use a non-stick wok), add onion, carrot and saute until half-tender also.  Lower heat to medium, add cream cheese and heat until melted.  Lower heat to lowest setting and add the soup, cream, half the shredded Gouda, the pepper and chicken meat.  Stir lightly to mix well.  Drain water off cauliflower when half tender and add to the skillet mixture.  Stir again.    Add the raw, chopped kale and stir one last time.  Sprinkle remaining Gouda over the top and then add the crumble topping evenly over the top.  Cover with foil and bake at 350ºfor 20 minutes.  Remove foil and bake 20 minutes longer or until topping is golden brown.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 8 servings, each contains:

390 calories, 30.7 g fat, 8.73 g carbs, 2.55 g fiber, 6.18 g NET CARBS, 17 g protein, 539 mg sodium

8 comments on “Creamy, Smoky Chicken Casserole

  1. I really appreciate that you give the eating plans that this recipe is appropriate for. I am currently in Atkins induction and it is very helpful to kno if the recipe is appropriate for me. Thanks!!

    Like

  2. Thanks! I did make it today (with some changes due to what I had on hand) before you had a chance to reply.
    I realized after I was “set” to make it, that I didn’t have cauli, but I did have chopped cabbage (from my garden). I was thinking I’d seen cauli in my freezer, but it was the cabbage. Soooo,,, decided to make it with that. A few other very minor subs, but they were quite minor. Oh, I did use some extra soup instead of the cream, and only 1/2 recipe of the topping. I always sub my creole seasoning for black pepper (I don’t care for bk pepper, and what is in the creole is all I want).
    Verdict………… We really liked it (even subbing cabbage). Hubby said it was good. (That’s a good review for him.)
    I’m usually for the one dish too, but this time I did pour it in a casserole dish to bake.
    Thanks for the recipe Peggy. Later this week, it will probably be you Beef Chile Relleno Casserole.

    Like

    • Say, cabbage instead does sound quite good. I find almost any recipe with kale or cauli is good with a cabbage sub. Glad you and the hubs liked it, Billie! And I KNOW you’ll like the Mexican dish. I make that one ALL the time. 🙂

      Like

  3. Peggy, you never mention the chicken again after the ingredients. You don’t say where or where to add it. Oops. You also don’t mention putting it in a dish to put in the over (or did you put the frying pan or wok in the oven)?

    Like

    • I’ve added it to the instructions now. Add them both when heat has been set to lowest setting. I’ve inserted that into the directions now. Most skillets or woks are oven-proof, so no additional dish is needed. I’m a big fan of cooking and baking in the same container unless I’m serving to company. But of course, you can always bake it in a separate casserole dish if you prefer. Thanks, Billie.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

