Induction Chicken and Dumplings

Chickenanddumplings

Man, this Induction-friendly dish is real Fall and Winter comfort food for us.  It tastes even better than it looks!  If you make Oopsie Rolls often (also called Revolution Rolls, or Cloud Bread), this recipe is great made with them!.  Nice quick and hearty dish to feed your family on a week night.  Since I haven’t been on Induction in years, I forget how good this simple dish is, so I thought I’d re-post this Induction-suitable recipe for those just starting out on their low-carb Atkins (or other Keto) weight-loss journey.  I think this is one of my better uses of the famous Oopsie Rolls.  I am always astounded the “dumplings” hold up to 15-20 minutes of broth simmering!  I guess it’s the high egg content of the Oopsie Rolls that is just perfect for this application.  You can also cut these “dumplings” up smaller pieces for adding to your other favorite soups and stews.  a nice recipe to have in your kitchen recipe box.  🙂

INGREDIENTS:

1 chicken breast (large, about 8 oz.)

2 c. homemade (plus enough water to cover chicken if needed)

3 drops yellow food coloring (optional, but I like chicken broth to look yellow)

3 large stalks celery, chopped coarsely

1 chicken bouillon cube (optional)

Dash black pepper

2 Oopsie Rolls (click link for that recipe’s instructions)

¼-½ tsp. xanthan gum to thicken

DIRECTIONS: Make the Oppsie rolls per instructions at link above.  Set aside to cool.  Cut chicken breast in half for two servings.  Place in small stew pot.  Cover with all remaining ingredients except Oopsie Rolls and xanthan gum.  Bring to a boil, lower to a gentle simmer and cook for 30 minutes.

Cut rolls into “dumpling” size you like and drop into broth.  Continue to simmer for 15-20 more minutes.  Do not disturb with spoon too much and the “dumplings” will not fall apart at all.  Right before serving, dust xanthan gum over surface and gently stir, waiting between successive dustings to allow it to thicken to see if more is needed.  You do NOT want to use too much xanthan gum or the resulting broth can get a slippery, gelatinous texture.  When you get to the desired thickness, remove from heat and serve.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 2 servings, each contains:

350 calories, 16.2 g  fat, 5.9 g  carbs, 3.5 g  fiber, 2.4 g  NET CARBS, 41.5 g  protein, 1500 mg sodium

7 thoughts on “Induction Chicken and Dumplings

  1. Hi Peggy! Thanks so much for all your experimenting and for sharing your incredible work with us. 🙂 Growing up in the South, I do miss real chicken and dumplings so I’m super excited to try your recipes!!

    I’m just curious, I noticed that this recipe is dated later than your original, famous, glucomannan dumpling recipe. Which do you prefer for a more traditional Southern Chicken & Dumpling taste? I’m wondering which one is best to try. Thanks again!

    1. Don’t hold too much stock in the date. I repost many of the more popular recipes so newcomers here will see them. The “Peggy’s Original Dumplings” was actually first published in 2013. It’s still our fav. When I added Einkorn Flour, we didn’t like the hardness it gave to the original recipe. Only thing I’ve ever added to the original recipe we actually LIKED was a tiny bit of finely chopped fresh parsley for a change of pace. 🙂

Leave a Comment