Spicy Tuna Pâté

tuna pate

I’m having company this weekend and thought I’d make a batch of my favorite tuna treat.  This recipe got me through the first 2 weeks of my low-carb journey as I found it very satisfying with carrot or celery sticks.  It’s tasty and filling as well.  If you like things spicy, add even more spice than I indicate below.   You can omit the tobasco if you prefer a milder version, but the flavor is quite good with tuna!   Saturday I plan to serve it with some of my Almond-Arrowroot Crackers .  This dish is suitable for all phases of Atkins and other Keto diets.

INGREDIENTS:

1   6.5 oz foil pouch oil-pack tuna (if using canned, the 5 oz. can will do fine)

1 stick butter, unsalted, softened (4 oz.)

½ c. chopped parsley

1 tsp. fresh lime juice

¼ tsp. onion powder

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper (more if you’re adventurous) or ¼ tsp. my Seafood Spice Blend

1/2-1 tsp. Chipotle Tobasco® sauce (optional)

DIRECTIONS:   Combine all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor or blender and pulse until well mixed.  Garnish with a sprinkle more of the spice blend.  Serve with celery sticks or your favorite low-carb crackers.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings.  ¼ batch contains:

286 calories, 26.3g fat, 1g carbs, 0.25g fiber, 0.75g NET CARBS, 12g protein, 149 mg sodium

Leave a Comment