Tuna Cakes

Click to enlarge

Tuna Cakes

This is how I’ve made my tuna “croquettes” (as my mother called them) for many years now.  When I was still teaching, this was often what I cooked when I had forgotten to defrost any meat for dinner, but didn’t  really want to eat out.  It’s easy, fast and DELICIOUS!  This recipe also works with salmon, crab and fish.

To make my old recipe low-carb, I just had to change the slice of conventional bread to a slice of low-carb bread.  Probably any low-carb bread would be fine, but today I had Sherrilee Artisan Flatbread made up and used ¾ slice.  The Revolution Roll (Oopsie) mentioned in the recipe will add the fewest carbs:  .  A piece of flax bread or leftover low-carb biscuit, or even 1 T. plain flax meal + 1 T. water would work also.    This recipe is OK for Induction.  If you prefer, you can coat the croquettes with the breadcrumbs rather than mixing them into the fish mixture.  But personally, I don’t see any difference in flavor.  The outside will get a bit crunchier if the crumbs are on the outside.  Your call there.

 

INGREDIENTS:

6.5 oz. foil-pouch tuna, oil-pack, drained, or salmon or fresh crab (half a 12 oz. can or 5 oz. can will work OK, if that’s all you have on hand)

2 beaten eggs

½ tsp. my Seafood Spice Blend

3 T. my homemade mayo

½ c. celery, finely chopped

1/3 c. green onion, chopped

2 oz. yellow onion, chopped

¼ c. red bell pepper (best as it is sweeter, but any color is fine)

1 Revolution Roll (Oopsie) (or other low-carb biscuit or bread you have on hand)

Dash black pepper

2 T. olive oil (to saute veggies)

1 T. olive oil (to fry croquettes)

DIRECTIONS:  Heat the 2T. olive oil in non-stick skillet and saute veggies until tender.  Scrape into mixing bowl.  Add all other ingredients to bowl (except remaining tablespoon of oil).  Stir well to blend smoothly.  Form into 6 small patties and brown in the 1 T. oil in the skillet over medium-high heat.  Try not to disturb or flip them until the first side is fully browned or they will likely tear up on you.  Serve at once with your favorite cream sauce or tartar sauce, low-carb ketchup.  I like to serve these with a light cream sauce or homemade mayo into which I’ve stirred a bit of the Seafood Spice Blend or my Shawarma seasoning.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 6 tuna cakes, each containing:

201 calories

16.3 g  fat

2.13 g carbs, .5 g fiber, 1.63 g NET CARBS

12.9 g  protein

127 mg sodium

 

10 thoughts on “Tuna Cakes

    1. That would work! I didn’t care for their flavor the one time I used them, but in tuna cakes, one would probably not taste it at all. 🙂

      1. Anne, TVP is textured vegetable protein. It usually comes dried and you have to reconstitute it with water. I think it’s made from soy solids left over from making tofu, but I could be wrong there…

      2. Geneva, if you add the tvp to your mix dry, it will absorb any excess liquid (meat juices, vegetable leach). Most tvp is a 3×1 ratio, which means each tbs dry will equal 3 tbsp once it has “bloomed”. Simply mix your tvp into your meat mixture and let sit for 24 hours in the fridge for best results.

  1. By the way, in my area, you can no long buy that size can of tuna–it’s either 5 oz or 12 oz. (This has caused me to have to alter several old favorite recipes.) I used half of a 12 oz can and mixed up some tuna salad with the other half.

  2. I made these today, and they were absolutely yummy! I didn’t have any sort of low carb bread product, so I used a couple of tablespoons of mozzarella in the hope that it would help hold them together. They turned out great!

Leave a Comment