Broccoli Slaw Stir-Fry

Click to enlarge

Broccoli Slaw Stir Fry

Broccoli slaw is a wonderful vegetable option for a low-carb lifestyle.  It comes pre-cut in the bagged salad area of the  produce departments in your local grocery store.  I’ve only used it twice:  the first time I used it as most people do, for a coleslaw recipe; the second time tonight I decided to cook it.  Couldn’t find a single recipe on the internet for this stuff cooked.  Yet my mother says she now actually prefers the stem of broccoli to the flower portion!  So I just took some of the leanest pieces of bacon from the bag of “bacon ends and pieces” I bought today, chopped it coarsely and fried this slaw.  All I can say is WOW!  This was amazingly sweet and so different from whole, steamed spears.  The smoky bacon honestly is what made this (no big surprise there for most of us 🙂 ).  You folks who say you don’t like broccoli, this dish just might change your mind.   None of the strong, bitterness the flower part has.  🙂  This recipe gets a resounding thumbs up from both me and my husband! We had this with smoked Czech beef sausage links we buy at a local meat market.  This would also be good with baked, fried or BBQ pork.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:      

12  oz. broccoli slaw

4 thick slices of bacon (or 5 thinner slices), coarsely chopped

1 T. extra bacon grease (if your bacon is very lean)

Dash black pepper

DIRECTIONS:    Brown the bacon until it has given up most of it’s fat/grease.  Don’t cook it to the real crisp stage though.  If your bacon is very lean, add the additional T. of bacon grease.  Add broccoli slaw and stir-fry until the broccoli threads just begin to wilt.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

119 calories

.98 g  fat

5.18 g  carbs, 3 g  fiber, 2.18 g  NET CARBS

6.45 g  protein

307 mg sodium

25% RDA Vitamin A, 88% vitamin C, 11% iron, 13% selenium

13 thoughts on “Broccoli Slaw Stir-Fry

  1. I’ve been doing the broccoli slaw stirfry thing for awhile now and really love your take on it. I will definitely try it out. Sounds exceptional.

    1. I hadn’t before either, Shari, but apparently you and I were in the dark, as now I’m finding all sorts of cooked recipes for it when I ask on low carb forums. 🙂 You’ll like this recipe.

  2. I love broccoli slaw, and have been cooking it from day one. I usually add mushrooms and fajita meat (steak and chicken) to make a one-skillet meal. The whole family loves it – even the carb eaters. 🙂

    So glad I met you & found your site!!

    1. It was so good I’ll be doing it regularly from now on. Can’t believe I never thought to COOK this stuff, because it’s been around for years!

Leave a Comment