Onion Crackers

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I continue experimenting with cracker recipes.  These came out VERY crisp indeed.  They were flavorful enough on their own merit to eat as chips, with dips, cheese or just butter!  These are not suitable until the nuts and seeds rung of the OWL ladder.  I actually put 1 tsp crushed dried rosemary in these but hubby and I think we would prefer them without the rosemary next time. 🙂

INGREDIENTS:

2/3 c. flax meal

1/3 c. almond meal

1/4 c. oat fiber

2 tsp. onion powder

¼ tsp. cayenne pepper

3/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese

3/4 c. water

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Mix dry ingredients in a  bowl.  Add water and stir with a fork until all dough appears to be moistened.  Pour crumbled mixture evenly onto a well-oiled or parchment-lined 11″x 17″ sheet pan  .  I use plastic gloves for this next step, or you can use plastic sandwich bags to cover your hands.  Press the crumbly mixture firmly onto the pan until it is evenly and uniformly spread in an extremely thin layer, avoiding any holes/breaks in the dough.  You can put plastic on top and use a rolling pin to smooth it out, but I find I don’t need to do this.   When done, using a long knife, gently score the dough into 48 crackers (8×6 rows).  Pop into 350º oven for about 20-25 minutes.  You do not want to over brown, so I start checking at 15 minutes!   Re-score with knife again as soon as you remove them from the oven.   Cool, separate and put in an air-tight container.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 48 crackers, each contains:

19 calories

1.44 g  fat

1.15 g  carbs, .93 g fiber, .22 NET CARBS

1.04 g  protein

15 mg potassium, 25 mg sodium

7 thoughts on “Onion Crackers

  1. Great. Now I’m going to be baking all day! Thanks, I will try these too, because it’s a perfect snowy day for baking here. Then I can compare the two.

  2. These are fantastic and easy! I didn’t roll them thin enough the first time, but I’ll be making these again and again. Love the flavour, and it was a cinch to roll out, (just didn’t have a big enough pan so made them too thick). I can’t wait to try different herbs and spices in them. Just in time for Christmas, Thank you!!

  3. Peggy, I just made these to take on a trip today. I had to test them (ha!) and they are wonderful ! Thanks so much for sharing!

    1. Oh, you’re the first feedback on this recipe, Nancy. So glad you liked them. I had a couple of mine with butter last night (several days later) and they are keeping real nicely in an air-tight container. Not getting “soft” yet. 🙂 Of course, crackers can be re-crisped in the oven if needed later on.

Leave a Comment