Einkorn Pie Crust

Click to enlarge

Einkorn Pie Crust

I’ve been low carbing for 5 years now and had come up with some very good recipes for pie early on in my weight loss journey.  But I stopped eating soy by products and have cut out most wheat intake a year or so ago.  That pretty much eliminated most of those pie crust recipes. :(  They are still up on my site here, but I’ve had to start trialing new recipes to find a good one that doesn’t use (or uses less of) those ingredients.  I’ve tried 4 or 5 now, but have not happy with any of them.  So I tried mixing the ingredients I’ve had the best luck with last night and BINGO!  I think I may have found my prize!  This balance of “flours” is going to be my go-to pastry recipe henceforth.  It should make cobblers, meat pies and single or double crust pies quite nicely!  I had no trouble rolling it out between parchment/plastic sheets and plan to try a double crust this week to see if getting the top crust on a pie works or ends up in a crumbled mess.

I’ve been experimenting with Einkorn flour for several months.  This is the ancient form of wheat that has not been genetically modified and that is supposed to be digested better than today’s hybrids wheat.  Therefore this recipe IS NOT GLUTEN FREE, but I’ve never had issues with gluten.   Yes, I’ve read Wheat Belly and yes, I understand the dietary and metabolic risks.  There are very few farms producing Einkorn wheat today.  I try never to use more than 2-4 tablespoons in a recipe in order to keep carbs as low as possible.

The addition of oat fiber brings even more “floury” flavor and better floury texture to baked goods.  So that is also a winner here.  Honestly, this is the very first crust I’ve made in ages that isn’t “short” and cookie-like!  That’s OK for cobblers, but not for pies in my opinion.  I like my crusts a little brittle and flaky.  Well I got brittle here, but not quite flaky.  If you had blindfolded me and had me do a taste/texture test on this one, I’d have said I was eating my pie crust of olden days, made with Pillsbury all-purpose flour.   :)  This one is not only tasty, it holds up nicely to a moist filling overnight in the fridge (coconut cream, at least🙂 ) .   It also boasts a very acceptable carb count (considering it has ¼ c. real flour in it)!  Check our the numbers below!

I order my Einkorn flour direct from Jovial Foods on-line.  I store the surplus in my freezer, as I do all my flours.  This recipe is not suitable until you reach the final grains level of Pre-Maintenance of Atkins or toward the end of you Ketogenic weightloss efforts.  This would not be suitable for Primal-Paleo followers.


1 c. blanched almond flour (I use Honeyvillegrains)

1 tsp. erythritol (this sweetener is optional)

¼ c. Einkorn flour, unsifted

¼ c. oat fiber (do not substitute)

¼ tsp. salt

4 T. butter, unsalted (if using salted, omit salt above)

4-5 T. ice water

DIRECTIONS:     Preheat oven to 350º.  this recipe is for a single crust pie.  Measure out the dry ingredients either into a bowl or your food processor. Stir/pulse to blend.  Add the butter and with a fork cut in or pulse the butter until the mixture resembles coarse cornmeal.  Slowly add the water, beginning with 3 T. and add 1 tsp. at a time as needed to form a ball of dough.  Stir with a fork or pulse until if will form a single ball of dough.  Only add as much as you need to form a thick ball of dough.  You don’t want the dough to be too wet.  Remove onto a sheet of parchment paper.  Press out a bit with your hand.  Place another sheet of parchment on top and roll out slightly larger than your pie plate.   Carefully remove the top parchment.  Invert the pie plate onto the dough, centering.   Now lift everything, parchment, crust and plate and invert.  The crust may begin to drop down into the pie plate on its own from gravity.  Carefully remove the parchment and help the crust settle down into the pan gently.  Press it down gently all around and on the bottom. Crimp the edge as you like.  Prick it on the sides and bottom with a fork.  Pop the pan into a preheated 350º oven for about 20-25 minutes, but check at 15.  I you will be filling with a filling you must bake again, you don’t want to over brown your bottom crust or it will burn during second cooking. If filling with a chilled filling, you want it browned to completion as pictured above.    Remove crust from oven when done and cool a bit before filling.

NUTRUTIONAL INFO:  Makes a single crust pie, 8 servings.  1/8 of the crust contains:

130 calories

12.2 g  fat

7.6 g  carbs, 4.1 g  fiber, 3.5 g  NET CARBS

3.4 g  protein

79 mg sodium

<10% RDA all other nutrients

11 comments on “Einkorn Pie Crust

  1. Hi Peggy – any thoughts on if this crust would work as a galette? I have been on the hunt for a crust that I can make freeform and fill with either fruit or make savory and use with summer vegetables and feta cheese. Something is telling me I would need either some egg or maybe cream cheese in a crust for it to be more like what I have in mind though. I’d appreciate your thoughts though!


  2. I have tried every low carb pie crust I could find, from Kevinpa’s and Jena-Marie’s to today’s GF LC crusts. This is hands-down the best one ever! I’m like you, it’s not all or nothing. I have a commitment to eating low-carb healthy foods, controlling my blood sugar, and enjoying life. I used this crust with a quiche and am going to try the blueberry pie as soon as I can round up some guests to help eat it. Thanks for all of your experimenting and sharing!


    • I’m so glad you have found this one to your liking, Diana. Feedback like yours is what keeps me experimenting and sharing. I’ve actually made Kevin’s crust, too, back when I was buying all the oddball ingredients he uses. His crust is really good, but I just got tired of the storage issues (and expense) of having to keep all those specialty ingredients on hand. Happy pie/pastry baking!


  3. I have just been searching for a source of einkorn flour on-line in Canada without success. Since there is only 1/4 cup used, could you suggest a substitution? For that amount, and for the rare piecrust I would make I am not afraid to use wheat flour, or some other flour you think might work. I have the oat fibre and the fine almond flour, so I am good to go if I can find a sub for einkorn flour.
    I appreciate your recipes, and your generous help…I hope that you might have a suggestion for me to experiment.

    Thanks so much,


  4. Looking forward to the double crust experiment results! I’ve never found a perfect sub for my Tourtiere (French meat pies) so I still “cheat” with this family holiday tradition!


  5. Ah, Peggy, truly you are an angel.

    I’ve been searching for this pie crust for ages; just didn’t know how to “get there.” Thank you for all that you do for us!

    ~~ Mary


      • I’m sure I’ll like it, as you just said, Peggy. I just went to the Jovial Foods website and ordered the Einkorn flour. Now, I plan to spend a pleasant hour or two investigating everything else they’re discussing on their fascinating website. Having read “Wheat Belly,” as you did, I’m MUCH more conscious of what we’re consuming!


Leave a Comment

