Sausage & Cabbage with Sofrito

What a tasty surprise!  I’m a bachelorette for the day and had not yet washed the skillet I fried bacon in this morning.  So I thought I’d stir-fry me a quick lunch of smoked sausage and cabbage.  I had just made a fresh batch of my Sofrito for freezer keeping and was smitten with the idea of breaking off a little piece from my freezer block and putting a little in my lunch skillet.  What a great idea this turned out to be! And what a simple, quick meal to prepare on a week night when you come home from work really tired.

Earlier in the week I had pulled off the outer leaves of a cabbage for stuffing but changed my mind.  So I wanted to use those leaves up quickly before they dried out.  This final dish turned out to be delicious and much better than I anticipated!  But then I really just love this Sofrito and use it on/in so many different recipes now.  If you like it, you’ll become addicted to the stuff, I’m certain. Haven’t used it in or on anything to date I didn’t like.  This recipe is naturally Atkins Induction friendly and suitable for Keto, Paleo and Primal lifestyles.

INGREDIENTS:

8 medium cabbage leaves, stemmed & sliced ½” (or equivalent)

8 oz. Burton’s Smoked Sausage (or other brand), sliced ¼”

2 tsp. bacon grease

2 T. my Sofrito

VARIATION:  Use halved small red radishes or daikon radish slices instead of cabbage

DIRECTIONS:  Cut cabbage and sausage as instructed above.  Add bacon grease to a skillet and head on medium-high.  Add sausage to the pan and brown slices on both sides lightly.  Add cabbage and stir-fry a few minutes until cabbage begins to soften.  Add the sofrito herb mixture and continue stir-frying until cabbage is done to your liking. Serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 2 servings, each contains:

350 cals, 27g fat, 6.2g carbs, 2.55g fiber, 3.65g NET CARBS, 23.4g protein, 1050 mg sodium (reduce sausage to reduce sodium)

Leave a Comment