Low-Carb Corn Tortillas

corntortillas

This week’s theme is going to be Mexican Cuisine.  Man, how I DO love me some Mexican Food!   I could eat it every other day, but I would surely gain my weight back if I did.  Consequently, I only allow myself Mexican fare once a week on average.

When I think of Mexican food, my thoughts immediately turn to lots of dishes made with corn tortillas.  Not exactly low-carb, are they?  Well I’ve come up with a lower-carb version that is acceptable in flavor.  I started this recipe out with 1 tsp. psyllium husk for resilience and rollability in these, but that wasn’t enough.  I’m now using 2 tsp. psyllium husk and am more pleased with these for enchiladas now.  This will be the first of many low-carb Mexican Food posts to celebrate the upcoming (first week in April) Fiesta Week in San Antonio!   I have been to the Fiesta River Walk festivities and it’s so much fun!  🙂

Over the last 14 years, I tried recipe after recipe for for low-carb tortillas published all over the internet.  Never happy with any of them.  Adding a couple key flavor and texture ingredients I’ve come up with a reasonable facsimile to regular corn tortilla taste and performance.  I really miss real corn tortillas, and for a very special occasion, will still eat them.

The “Fresh Corn” flavoring I use (formerly Superior, of late, called Select Flavors) tastes just like buttered corn on the cob.  there are other brands out there you can explore.  They say Amoretti brand is great but way too pricey for my pocketbook.    Alternately, you can add 1/4 cup pureed baby corn (puree with juice from can) to the batter, but not very much or carbs will spike.  You will have to recalculate nutritional macros if you add it.

This recipe isn’t suitable until the grains of the Atkins Phase 2 OWL carb re-introduction ladder.  It would not be acceptable for Paleo or Primal diners due to the corn flavoring/extract.

INGREDIENTS:

1 T. yellow cornmeal

3/4 tsp. baking powder

3 T. + 1 tsp. coconut flour

1 T. golden flax meal

3 T. almond flour

2 tsp. psyllium husk powder (I use NOW brand)

3 T. light olive oil

3 beaten eggs (medium or large)

½ c. + 1 T. water

1 T. corn flavoring

1 drop yellow food coloring (optional)

8 tsp. light olive oil (for frying the tortillas)

DIRECTIONS:  Whisk the eggs, water, corn flavoring and 3 T. olive oil well in a mixing bowl.  Measure and add in all the dry ingredients.   Whisk well too a smooth batter.  Heat a non-stick skillet over medium high heat.  Add 1 tsp. oil and spread it around in the center of the skillet with your spatula. Using a 1/4 c. measuring cup, scoop up 3 T. batter (3/4 of the cup), and holding the skillet in your left hand, ready to tilt, pour the 3 T. batter quickly into the skillet in a circle with your right hand.  Tilt the skillet to allow the batter to roll into a nice 4½”-5″ circle.  Brown the tortilla on 1 side for about 2 minutes, flip and brown the second side.  I slid my tortilla around on the skillet surface so the oil would continue to keep it from sticking as it cooked.  With a spatula, remove the cooked tortilla to awaiting paper toweling to drain and cool so it can be handled for whatever application you are using them for. Repeat this process, adding 1 tsp. oil to the skillet before forming each of the tortillas.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes eight 4½-5″ small tortillas, each contains:

142.5 calories, 13.2 g  fat, 3.86 g  carbs, 1.43 g  fiber, 2.43 g  NET CARBS,  3.63 g  protein, 84 mg sodium

Leave a Comment