Ranch® Buttermilk Dressing (or dip)

Ranch Buttermilk Dressing

I came up with a homemade version of Ranch® Dressing for my husband, who just loves it on salads.  I think my version tastes better than what is sold in the bottle (which I actually don’t like), so it’s clearly not exactly the same.  But it’s pretty good and has no unhealthy ingredients.  It’s lighter on salt, too, which I like.

I’m not too fond of dill, so I tend to reduce it in most recipes.  But my husband LOVES dill and likes more in recipes, thus the range of dill shown in the Ranch® Powder recipe linked below.  I basically used equal amounts of the herbs I selected except the dill and thyme.  A tablespoon of thyme would have been way too much!   This dressing is super yummy!  Try it and see if you don’t agree it’s even better than the famous bottled stuff!  As you well know, this also makes an excellent dip for raw vegetable party trays.  All you have to do for the dip is increase the sour cream to make it thicker.  You’ll have to recalculate carbs to add in the extra sour cream.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets.

INGREDIENTS:

1 c. homemade mayonnaise

3/4 c. sour cream (add ¼ c. more if using as a veggie dip)

¼ c. buttermilk (only 2 T. if using as a veggie dip)

1 T. my Ranch Dressing Powder Blend

2 tsp. red wine vinegar

1/8 tsp. salt

OPTIONAL:  1/8 tsp. glucomannan powder if you like a thicker dressing

DIRECTIONS:  Measure the first 3 ingredients into a medium bowl.  Whisk well to blend to a smooth mixture.  Add my Ranch Dressing Powder Blend, vinegar and salt and whisk a couple minutes until the herb mixture is thoroughly blended in.  If using the glucomannan thickener, whisk it in last.  Transfer to a saved empty plastic dressing bottle (I always keep and wash them for homemade dressings) if you have one, or a lidded jar.  Close tightly and chill.  Serve on crisp green salads or as a dip for raw veggies.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes two cups or eight ¼ c. servings, each contains:

251 cals, 26.8g fat, 1.81g carbs, 0.1g fiber, 1.71g NET CARBS, 1.72g protein, 66 mg sodium

4 thoughts on “Ranch® Buttermilk Dressing (or dip)

  1. Hi Peggy,
    Thank you for your dedication to low carb recipes. You have been an inspiration for so many years- we both were just atkins posters at least 20 years ago. You have great skill and are very creative. i feel like we are friends its been so many years. a favorite recipe is the meatloaf/ meatballs. Valerie

    1. Hi, Valerie! It has been a long time since we got started. I was just saying to my husband this morning “It’s truly hard for me to believe I’ve been eating this way since 2009”. I still eat low-carb, but since dabbling in Intermittent Fasting, that’s pretty much what I’m sticking with. It actually works better for me to eat one meal a day. Multiple food intakes a day seem to trigger off insulin and hunger for me. Want to cure any insulin resistance that still lingers.

      I’m so glad you’re sticking with it, too, Valerie. Great of you to stop by today! Keep up the good work and pop in anytime. I so enjoy comments from the old Atkins group folks.

  2. I made something like this. Lactose free sour cream and homemade mayo with the dried spices. It was divine as a dip. My husband lived in Buffalo for 6 years and he made wings. I don’t like blue cheese so he ate his with blue cheese dressing, and I ate the ranch. What a good idea to add buttermilk powder! Next time.

Leave a Comment