Jicama Hash Browns

JicamaHashBrowns(1)

Hash browns made with jicama (diced or grated) are very similar to those made with potatoes.  A little crunchy, but the taste is very close.   These literally were one of the steadfast recipes for getting me through Atkins Induction Phase.  They are pretty good with scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage.

INGREDIENTS:

1 c. peeled jicama, diced or shredded (I like shredded best)

1 oz. chopped yellow onion

2 tsp. bacon grease

Dash salt and pepper

DIRECTIONS:  Grate the jicama (or dice into 1/2″ pieces).  Drain and pat dry with paper towels.  Chop onion.  Melt grease in no-stick skillet and brown the two together, stirring often, until jicama begins to brown.   Serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 1 serving which contains:

136 cals, 8.7g fat, 13.6g carbs, 6.6g fiber, 7g  NET CARBS, 1.2 g protein, 175 mg. sodium

6 thoughts on “Jicama Hash Browns

  1. When making jicama fries, I microwave them after cutting with a bit of water, covered, for 15 minutes. It actually softens them quite a bit. I may try this recipe and see if I can soften them up some first. Looking forward to it!

    1. Good idea. I actually like them kind of firm/crisp for the french fries to have some body/structure so you can hold them. These are in the twain of soft and crunchy. 🙂

  2. I use chayote as my hash browns substitute. It’s a type of squash that is only 6 net carb in 1 cup. Taste better than jicama in my opinion.

    1. Yes, I, too have use chayote this way. I actually like all the different vegetables that make pretty good hash browns. I just use whichever one I have on hand. 🙂

  3. I used to eat jicima as a snack food a lot before LC. I thought there were a lot of carbs in it so quit. What’s the real story?

Leave a Comment