Sesame Seed Sandwich Buns

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

These buns make great sandwiches.  It takes two, but the count is so low, you can definitely fit these into your daily nutrient limits.  These are Induction friendly.

INGREDIENTS:

1 recipe Peggy’s Sandwich Buns:  https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2010/07/23/peggys-sandwich-buns/

½ tsp. sesame seeds

DIRECTIONS: Make the sandwich buns according to that recipe. When they are formed onto the greased pan, sprinkle with the sesame seeds. Bake at 300º for 25-35 minutes (ovens vary).  Remove when they just begin to brown and feel done in center.  I don’t over brown because leftovers must be heated/toasted when used and  I don’t want to dry them out or over brown during the re-warming.  Here’s what one looks like after toasting/browning further:

click to see with further browning

click to see with further browning

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 8 rolls, each contains:

96 calories

7.8 g  fat

1.7 g  carbs, 1.1 g  fiber, .62 g  NET CARBS

5.58 g  protein

66 mg sodium

37% RDA Vitamin B12, 19% copper, 23% iron, 18% phosphorous, 20% riboflavin, 19% selenium, 13% zinc

3 thoughts on “Sesame Seed Sandwich Buns

  1. Hi Peggy,
    I put these in a plastic bag & put them in the fridge…. they are a little gummy/sticky on top when I go to use them but of course I use them anyway, but I was just wondering if I’m doing something wrong & also can I freeze these ??
    thanks

  2. Peggy, I made these for lunch today and we enjoyed BLT’s with summer tomatoes from the garden. Thanks for a great recipe. Will be using the left overs for burgers tomorrow night! -Kim Hardesty

Leave a Comment