Smoked Oyster Canapes

Click to enlarge

Smoked Oyster Canapés

A quick and tasty snack or party appetizer for your next football game gathering.  Of course, if you don’t care for smoked oysters, you probably won’t like these.  But my folks always kept smoked oysters in the house and it was a favorite snack with saltines.  But I’ve found a low carb way to still enjoy them. Oysters have carbs, but there’s only 7 net carbs in an entire 3.75 oz. can, so eating 4-5 of these is doable for a low-carb snack.  This recipe is Induction friendly.  Every brand of oysters is different the size/number of oysters in the can.  That makes it hard to formulate a big recipe and know how many you’ll end up with.  As a rule, the oysters are very small after smoking, but my can had 27 in it this time.  I make up just the number of these I think I want or need for guests, because my husband is not so fond of smoked oysters and never eats them with me.   So the recipe below is for ONE canapé and you go with that based on consumption.  You’ll need toothpicks to put these together as well.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

1 smoked oyster

1 medium black olive, pitted

1/3 tsp. Philly cream cheese with chive and onion

DIRECTIONS:  Dab 1/3 tsp. cream cheese on each oyster, Spear through both with a toothpick, catching a black olive on the bottom of each canapé.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Each canape contains:

12 calories

.8 g fat

.6 g  carbs, .1 g fiber, .5 g  NET CARBS

.7 g  protein

83 mg sodium

Leave a Comment