Nectarine Pancakes

Nectarine Pancakes

When I have a piece of overripe fruit I need to use quickly, I often chop it up in pancakes.  My inspiration for this batch of pancakes made with a very ripe nectarine, was a pancake recipe on Jennifer Eloff’s Splendid Low-Carbing site, called Donna’s Pancakes. Of course, my regular readers know I just couldn’t resist tweaking it a bit.  😉  These were very fluffy and just delicious with just butter and maple syrup.  On special occasions like Christmas morning, I like to make fruity pancakes topped with sweetened whipped cream and more chopped fruit on top, for eye-smacking color and flavor!!   With the addition of the nectarine, these are a little carbier than many LC pancake recipes on my website, but they are indeed nice for a very special treat if you can fit the carbs in your day’s limits.  This are not suitable until the fruits rung of OWL.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

¼ c. heavy cream

¼ c. water

3-6 drops of liquid sweetener (or other sweetener of your choice)

3 beaten eggs

¼ tsp. vanilla extract (or peach, if you have it)

½ c. Jennifer Eloff’s Splendid Gluten Free Bake Mix

½ c. Carbquick bake mix (or more of the above mix for a gluten-free version)

2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. oat fiber (I order from Netrition.com)

½ tsp. cinnamon

1    2½” nectarine, peeled and chopped fine

DIRECTIONS:  Beat eggs in a medium bowl.  Add water, cream, sweetener and vanilla.  Add bake mixes, cinnamon, salt, baking powder and oat fiber. Stir until batter is smooth.  Add fruit and stir well.  Heat non-stick (or oiled) griddle.  Using a ¼c. measuring cup, dip up into nine 4″ pancakes.  Allow to brown and rise on one side and flip to brown on second side.  Serve hot with butter and syrup or whipped cream topping.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 9 pancakes, each contains:

78.90 calories

5.51 g  fat

7.16 g carbs, 3.48 g fiber, 3.68 NET CARBS

6.2 g  protein

150 mg sodium

 

4 thoughts on “Nectarine Pancakes

  1. Ah, don’t be, I had 30 years in the Great White North – I still found beauty in my surroundings…even in the cloudy, stark winters. But I do prefer this, I cannot tell a lie. “Animals playing hopscotch in your front yard” – you have a way with words – haha too funny! Have a nice day, my friend. Your blog is amazing!!

  2. Looks amazing! I love nectarines; just so expensive here. I think there must be almost as many pancake recipes as there are low-carbers! Someone else said that the other day – Kent Altena!

    1. You’re right about the bazillions of pancake recipes. As many of those as MIM recipes.

      On the up-side to not having access to nectarines, YOU have all those beautiful vistas, waterfalls, exotic flowers and animals playing hopscotch in your front yard. I know which one I’d prefer, and it ain’t edible! LOL I’m so envious.

    2. And I’m slowly trying a lot of them, looking for that “perfect” pancake, you know. This one’s good, but I’m not at pancake nirvana yet……..LOL 🙂

Leave a Comment