Rum Balls

Click to enlarge

Low-Carb Rum Balls

I have modified my traditional rum ball recipe I always do for the holidays and the low-carb version is VERY tasty.  These can also be made up as Bourbon Balls. I was amazed that they taste just like my tried-and-true original recipe!  They were a regular in my house when I was a child and they’ll make a wonderful addition to your Holiday candy tray! These are not acceptable for Atkins Induction Phase.  They are OK for all other phases and for Keto dieters as well.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS. She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and other wonderful cooks to bring you a wealth of recipes you will love! Some of my low-carb creations appear in each of the 5 volumes! Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not accept payment for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein. I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

¾ c. almond meal

¼ c. plain whey protein

1 c. finely chopped walnuts or pecans

½ c. cocoa, sifted

¼ c. powdered erythritol, sifted

4 T. melted butter

14 drops liquid sweetener (I use EZSweets in the large bottle)

2 T. rum

FOR OUTER COATING: 2 T. more erythritol + ½ c. more finely chopped walnuts or pecans mixed together in a small bowl.

DIRECTIONS: Mix first 5 dry ingredients in a medium bowl.  Add liquid sweetener and rum to melted butter and stir into batter until well mixed.  It should begin to form a smooth batter.  Spoon up and using hands, form into eighteen ¾-1″ balls.  To finish them off, roll around in pecan coating (I found I had to press firmly onto surface) for as even a coating as you can get.  Store in air-tight container with wax paper between layers.  Store in refrigerator until ready to serve.  These can be frozen.

VARIATION:  For Bourbon Balls, use an equivalent amount of bourbon for the rum.  🙂

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 18 balls, each containing:

136 calories

12 g  fat

3.75 g  carbs, 1.71 g  fiber, 2.04 g  NET CARBS

3.21 g  protein

4 mg. sodium

2 thoughts on “Rum Balls

  1. You did it again. These are great and very similar to the high carb version. I added 1 T. VitaFiber to help them stick together and 1 T. extra bourbon because we like them strong. I can’t stop eating them! Thanks for the great recipe.

Leave a Comment