Indian Muthi Kebabs

Indian Muthi Kebabs

I have been wanting to try my hand at the muthi kebabs that are often served with a Mixed Grill at Indian restaurants.  So I tinkered around with my Garam Masala spice blend and a few other common Indian seasonings and grilled the final result.   I managed to get my recipe pretty darn close to the taste I’m so familiar with.  This has since become my go-to Indian kebab recipe.  I like to serve these with various grilled vegetables, usually including onions, but sometimes with grilled tomatoes or grilled yellow squash.  Also pictured are dry griddled Mission Carb Balance whole wheat flour tortillas (3 net carbs per tortilla) for a very similar taste to Indian whole wheat chapatis.  🙂

These kebabs can be made with either beef or lamb.  And although you can skillet cook or broil them indoors, grilling them over charcoal will achieve a flavor so similar to those done in a tandoori oven that once you’ve done them that way, you’ll not want them any other way.  Of that I am certain!  I have tried to mold these on skewers before, but I have never had much luck with that.  Gravity kicks in and mine drop off the skewer before I can even get the skewer to the grill, so we just do them in little patties instead.  🙂    This recipe is Atkins Induction friendly and is also suitable for Keto, Primal and Paleo.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

Click to enlarge

Shown in the traditional shape

INGREDIENTS:

24 oz. ground beef or lamb (not too lean, or add some fat)

4 oz. onion, minced fine

2-3 T. cilantro, chopped

1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped fine

½ tsp. ginger root, minced

1 tsp. Garam Masala

¼ tsp. turmeric

¼ tsp. salt

1 small egg, beaten

Dash black pepper and cayenne pepper

DIRECTIONS:   I have a food processor, so I throw all the ingredients in and process until all veggies are minced fine and blended well into the smooth meat.  Form into 8 equal patties.  I actually weigh mine and make them 3 oz. raw mixture for each patty.   Prepare charcoal fire and grill over hot coals for about 10 minutes on a side (will vary depending on how hot your fire is and how far the meat is from the coals).   I like to serve these kebabs with my Indian Creamed Spinach , assorted grilled veggies or my Roasted Shawarma Vegetables .  Mmmmm. Good Eats!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 8 patties, each contains:

237.6 calories

15.2 g  fat

1.46 g  carbs, .29 g fiber, 1.17 g  net carbs

22.5 g  protein

418 mg sodium

 

Leave a Comment