Spicy Onion Rings

 

Click to enlarge

Spicy Onion Rings

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at onion rings.  I am not so wild about onion rings, but my husband sure loves them.  These are oven-baked instead of fried, so no greasy mess on the stove.  They came out very tasty, but were considerably softer than a deep-fried, batter-coated onion ring.  No surprise there.   The coating browned nicely and was very crunchy.  I would definitely do these again.  Just so you know, only the smallest diameter rings could be picked up by hand easily.  I dipped the larger ones onto my plate and used a fork to cut them in half to eat.  These are Induction friendly.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

8 oz. onion cut into ½” rings

2 oz. plain pork rinds, crushed very fine

3/4 tsp. my Seafood Spice Blend

4 T. my homemade mayo

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 450º.  You will need a large, preferably non-stick baking sheet to bake these.  Slice onion and separate rings until you have 8 oz.  That’s about 16 medium ½” rings.  Parboil for 1 minute in boiling water and lift out onto paper towels to totally dry. Crush pork rinds very fine in processor, blender or by hand.  Remove any larger, hard bits that are invariably in pork rinds when you crush them.  Mix spice into crushed rinds in a small bowl.  In a shallow dish or pie plate, pour the 4T. mayo.    Slowly dip an onion ring into the mayo, coating the outside and the inside (with your finger if necessary.  Then drop them into the pork rinds and coat well outside and inside.  Lay each onto the baking sheet.     Repeat until all rings have been coated.  Pop into 450º oven for about 25 minutes.  They tend to brown more and faster on the bottom where they touch the pan, so you may want to turn them over at the 15 minute mark.  Not much grease so no draining necessary.  Lift onto serving platter and ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings of 2 0z. each.  Each serving contains:

196 calories

15.6 g  fat

5.10 g  carbs, .53 g fiber, 4.57 g  NET CARBS

9.5 g  protein

271 mg sodium

85 mg potassium

31% RDA Vitamin B12, 26% riboflavin and 40% selenium

18 thoughts on “Spicy Onion Rings

    1. I should work for squid, but be sure to dry the squid with paper towels well so the mayo will clink to all surfaces. The coating won’t adhere where there is water without getting soggy. 🙂

    1. Was ever a response given to the mayonnaise alternative? I also do not eat mayo but would love to try these…

      1. I’ve never used anything else. You could TRY butter or oil but not positive it will work. A beaten egg might work, too. Whatever you use, don’t use sour cream or yogurt as the water content in either one will “soggy up” the coating and final result. Needs to be egg or an oil for sure.

      2. What about 3 steps…almond flour, then beaten egg, then crushed pork rinds. Think the almond flour might help the egg wash to adhere.

  1. I am a vegetarian so won’t use pork rinds but have made delicious onion rings using commercial low carb baking mixes. Unfortunately, if you use pre-made mixes for a low-carb batter, you do need to deep fry. Nice to see a baked alternative!

  2. It would really help me if instead of ounces you would put cups, tablespoons, etc. I have no idea how many slices make up 8oz sliced onions or how man rinds make up 2 oz LOL

    1. Because “slices” and “pieces” vary from brand to brand, low carb cooks prefer to give recipe ingredients weights as that is more accurate. If you serious about sticking with low-carbing MOST of our recipes tend to give weights for accuracy. It would be worth it to invest in a $15 kitchen scale at Walmart. On the rinds, look at the weight on the front of the bag (my bags are usually 3.5 oz.) and eyeball that 2 oz is about half the bag.) I can tell you no blogger is going to rework all their recipes, so that scale will be a great investment for you. It’s also very useful for vegetables, as how do you cram broccoli into a “cup”?? How many spears is a cup? Weighing broccoli is 100% accurate and that’s why bloggers prefer weights. Otherwise, the nutritional info can be terribly distorted if you cram more broccoli into a cup than I do. See what I mean.

  3. Thank you for the reply. I rarely use a deep fry, but deep fried onion rings are one of my favorites. I’ll try your recipe as is.
    Thank you for all your WONDERFUL recipes!

    1. Sue, I know of other low-carbers that have, with different almond meal and flax coatings on the veggies. I have just personally never liked deep-frying, ANYTHING. Ditched my deep fryer eons ago because I just didn’t like the mess cleaning up the unit, or the stove cleanup after deep frying in a skillet. Been popped and burned by grease one time too many I guess. 🙂

Leave a Comment