“Cornbread” Muffins

cornmuffins

This recipe was inspired by an English muffin recipe of Ouizoid on LowCarb Friends forums.  I changed up a couple ingredients, added a little yellow food coloring and a corn flavoring called “Fresh Corn” made by Superior Flavorings.  I order my Fresh Corn flavoring here:    http://www.selectflavors.com/products-page/individualflavors/aaa-template-duplicate-9/ .   I DO wish I had not decided to use baking cup paper liners as the muffins stuck to the ungreased paper pretty badly.  I discovered once cooled, the paper peeled off nicely, but I like my cornbread HOT!  So I strongly recommend using greased, non-stick muffin pans, preferably silicone, without paper liners.

I like this recipe a bit better than my other cornbread recipe here on the site!  A little more moist and less crumbly!  These are extremely filling, too, with the glucomannan and chia, two ingredients LOADED with fiber!   This recipe is not suitable until the grains rung on the Atkins OWL phase.  The unusual ingredients in this are available at Netrition.com, all but the corn flavoring, that is.  🙂

NOTE:  These freeze for a few weeks nicely.  I recommend reheating leftovers for 5 seconds on DEFROST in your microwave rather than in your oven, as oven reheating dries out the surface. 

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.   Order yours TODAY! (as a set or individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

INGREDIENTS:

¼ c. oat fiber (use almond flour for gluten-free version, but carbs will go up)

¼ c. flax meal (I used half golden flax and half dark flax)

¼ c. Carbquik bake mix (for gluten-free, use Jennifer Eloff’s Gluten-Free Bake Mix)

1/3 c. plain, unsweetened whey protein powder

1 tsp. glucomannan powder (available at Netrition.com)

½ tsp. xanthan gum

3/4 tsp. baking powder

1 T. chia seeds mixed in ¼ c. hot water

3 beaten medium-large eggs

1 T. olive oil

2 tsp. “Fresh Corn” flavoring

3-4 drops yellow food coloring (optional)

DIRECTIONS:  Mix chia seeds with the ¼ c. water in a lidded jar and set aside for about 15-20 minutes.  Shake the jar occasionally to loosen any clumps.  Once your chia gel is slightly thickened, preheat your oven to 350º.  Measure all the dry ingredients into a medium mixing bowl and stir well.  Beat the eggs, oil, corn flavoring, food coloring and chia gel into the batter and stir until very smooth.  If too stiff, add 1 T. water and stir in well.  I use a 2 T. measuring cup to scoop the batter into 10 muffin cups, but you have to dig it out with your finger to avoid batter waste.  Bake at 350º for about 15-20 minutes or until lightly browned on top.  Serve with butter while hot and ENJOY!

VARIATION:   This can be baked in a greased round or square pan for about 20-25 minutes or until lightly browned and center is dry to the touch.  Tip:  This makes excellent cornbread for your Holiday stuffing. 🙂

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 10 small corn muffins.  Each muffin contains:

52.7 calories, 3.6 g  fat, 5.0 g  carbs, 4.5 g  fiber, 0.5 g  NET CARBS, 5.38 g protein, 70 mg sodium

24 thoughts on ““Cornbread” Muffins

  1. Hi Peggy,

    I’d like to make this for a friend who eats cornbread like there’s no tomorrow! But she wants to lose some weight. I have most of the ingredients except of course, this corn flavoring. Have you tried any of the other flavors they offer? Sometime ago, I remember reading somewhere about a vanilla b-nut flavoring, that was very popular with the piece that I was reading, but right now I can’t remember where….(ah old age!), and I see that Superior Flavors carries that as well. If I’m going to plunk down $8.00 for shipping, I might as well invest in a few more flavors. Your thoughts?

    Bitsy

      1. Peggy, do you mind my posting the website where I found the Superior flavorings cheaper?

  2. OOPPSS…
    Guess I should have read the comments before….. I see I’m not the only one asking about the ingredients…..
    Thanks for the info.

  3. Hi Peggy,
    Wow these sound wonderful….corn muffins is what we had as a treat after dinner when I was a kid, so I’d really like to make these.
    I didn’t see the ingredient info. for the flavoring on their site. I have several allergies in the family and need to know the ingredients in this stuff. Any ideas ?

  4. Well, I just started to order the corn flavoring, but as much as I would like to have it to make “corn” bread & the “corn” muffins, I just can’t bring myself to pay almost $18 for a bottle of flavoring. Guess I’ll have to do without. Don’t want corn bread THAT bad. Didn’t want the Propylene Glycol anyway. Sigh!

      1. Yes, It is only $9.75 a bottle (which I thought was pretty high), but then they add $8.00 for shipping (unless you buy 12 bottles, which I don’t even want to buy more than the 1 bottle, certainly not 12). So that is $17.75 (that’s almost $18 which I said almost). :>(

      2. Yes, I realize I misread about your shipping comment. Sorry about that. But you know, that’s what they stick me for every time I order anything from a mail order catalog, too. Aggravating, but very difficult to avoid. I bought my first bottle right off the shelf at a Kroger store 20+ years ago. Maybe some store in your area carries it? But you’re kinda remote, as I recall, so that may not be a possibility. I’m lucky ONE of the TWO chain grocers where I live will special order stuff if you ask the manager. Natural Grocery stores will do that, too. You might even see if one near you is willing to carry some of this product line if they have a suggestion box.

      3. (This may end up in the wrong spot, as I didn’t find a reply below on your reply to me.)
        Yes, I realized that shipping is so often so high! Many times the item you want isn’t too bad a price, but the shipping is as high or higher. I used to almost never order anything, but I’m ordering more now, but mainly when I can get reasonable shipping. (Or I REALLY want something.) Tho I’d like to have this, again, not that bad.
        I don’t have Kroger here, but do have King Sooper’s which is a Kroger chain. Never would have thought about them having it. And I’ve never seen it there. Never heard of such a thing as corn flavoring before. And haven’t seen it at my Natural Grocers either. I’ll have to check those places tho. I don’t get into Safeway or Albertson’s much, but maybe I’ll try to check them as well. (Don’t get into KS much either, and I was just in there Saturday. Never dawned on me that might carry it.
        Thanks for the suggestions!!! And for taking the time to try to help me out!!
        I might see if Natural Grocer’s will order it for me, if they don’t have it here. (have you ever seen it at a Natural Grocer’s?) I had never even heard of that brand before.
        Thanks again!

  5. I was gonna come & ask like Sue just did, about the ingredients. I had looked at the site once before (when you had mentioned it), and refrained from buying because they didn’t give ingredients. (Like Sue I think it is rather pricey too, but the only place I know of that has corn flavoring.) I did see it is an 8oz bottle. (main page)
    Would you mind telling us the ingredients? Thank You Peggy!

  6. Is there a specific unflavored whey that you suggest? I don’t have any unflavored and I have tried so many yukky ones I hate to buy another one to just have it sit while I try to find some way to use it… tia

    1. Jeanne, I bought a mega bag of NOW unflavored from Amazon a year or so ago. It bakes well and makes good protein shakes for me. It was a lot cheaper back then though, about $7-8 a pound. I understand it has really gone up now. I store it in my freezer and just take out a small amount each month. It has really kept well in the freezer, too.

  7. The muffins look good, does the corn flavoring have ingredients and nutritional information on the label? Couldn’t find the info on the website. The site doesn’t really show how big the bottle is either and since if’s so expensive I was wondering if you could tell me the size. Thank you!

    1. Sue and Billie, here are the ingredients listed on the bottle: Water, Propylene glycol, Natural and Artificial flavors, Potassium Benzoate( as a preservative). [It is alcohol free, sugar free, salt free.]

      No telling what the “natural and artificial flavors” really are. Don’t know if they’d be willing to tell you specifics on that or not, as they likely consider that part proprietary.

      Propylene Glycol info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propylene_glycol
      Potassium Benzoate info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Potassium_benzoate

      1. Thanks Peggy. That’s what I was afraid of. I may buy a bottle of the corn flavoring, cause I don’t know where else I could get it, and wouldn’t use it often. But the Proplene glycol will keep me from buying other flavors. The rest doesn’t scare me away. But I’d rather not consume anti-freeze very often.
        I just now saw your links about it and the Potassium Benzonate. I’ll go check them out.

        Thanks for the reply!!!! I appreciate it!

      2. Well, as long as I don’t feed it to anyone’s cats, my dogs, inhale it daily or inject it directly into my veins, the articles say it’s pretty safe for humans consumed in the small amount of extract one would use in a recipe. I’m hoping this is one time they’ve got their research right. I guess we all get to choose our own “poisons”.

      3. Thanks for the info Peggy and also crazywoman2 (for the bottle size). I think I’ll keep experimenting with my attempts using ground baby corn & ground hazelnuts. Haven’t perfected it yet but it’s fun to try. Sue

Leave a Comment