Blue-Glu Muffins

Blue-Glu Muffins

Blue-Glu Muffins

I’m trying to incorporate some glucomannan (Konjac) powder into my daily food intake for the added fiber.  I decided to try a new blueberry muffin recipe today and added a little.  These came out amazingly light and fluffy with a very nice texture/crumb.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I will continue adding a bit of this powder to baked goods.  I order mine at Netrition on-line.  You can use all butter in these if you prefer.  These are not suitable for the Induction phase of Atkins.  Wait until the grains rung of the OWL ladder.  This batter would lend itself to other chopped fruits or berries as well.  If you prefer, you can substitute 3/4 more almond flour for the Carbquick (which has some flour in it), but your texture and carb count will be different making that change.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 c. almond flour

3/4 c. Carbquick mix (or use Jennifer Eloff’s Gluten-Free Bake Mix for a gluten-free version)

2 T. coconut flour

2 T. oat fiber (omit if you need it gluten-free)

½ tsp. glucomannan (Konjac) powder (optional)

½ c. Splenda, granular (or equivalent sweetener)

1 T. erythritol, granular

2 tsp. baking powder

Pinch of salt

¼ c. butter, melted

¼ c. light olive oil

4 large eggs, beaten

¼ c. water

1 tsp. vanilla

3/4 c. blueberries (I used tiny frozen wild blueberries)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners (or grease metal muffin pan). Measure the dry ingredients into medium mixing bowl.  Stir well.  Beat in eggs, vanilla, water and butter/oil.  Fold berries in gently, just enough to mix uniformly into batter.  Do not overwork batter.   Fill 12 muffin cups about 3/4 full and pop into hot oven.  Bake for 20 minutes and check.  Bake 2-3 more minutes if not done/lightly browned yet.  Mine took the full 23 minutes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 12 muffins, each contains:

175 calories

16.08 g  fat

9.31 g  carbs, 5.61 g  fiber, 3.7 g  NET CARBS

5.6 g  protein

146 mg sodium


12 comments on “Blue-Glu Muffins

  1. I just made these this morning exactly as written. They are amazing! Definitely one of those recipes that make the fuss of online ordering of exotic ingredients worthwhile! I’ll be writing this one in my recipe book in ink as I can’t think of any tweaks it needs. My friends and family think I am incapable of leaving a recipe alone but this one will prove them wrong!



    • I’m so glad this was a hit, Margaret. We were sure impressed with the texture and flavor on these, and I can’t say that about a lot of LC muffins I’ve tried. Sometimes we find a good one that really doesn’t need further tweaking or improvements. 🙂


  2. I don’t really eat muffins, but DH does and I decided to try these with cranberries instead of blueberries since we always have frozen cranberries on hand. This is now the only muffin recipe I use since DH likes it so much better than any of the others. Also, I increased the glucomannan to 1 teaspoon. Thanks for another great recipe.


  3. I’ll have to order some glucomannan powder and give these a try. Hard to imagine that just 1/2 tsp. could make such a difference, but after working with xanthan gum, it’s not so far fetched!

    Mary D.


Leave a Comment

