Chia Microwave Biscuits (2)

Two Chia Biscuits shown.

Two Chia Biscuits shown.

Since I’ve cut most wheat out of my diet, I can no longer eat some of my older biscuit recipes that used Carbalose flour or Carbquik.  So I’ve been tinkering around with new ingredients.   In doing so, I’ve made a delicious 2-serving low-carb biscuit that is moist and light.  Chia seeds have many health benefits and they also bring moisture to a baked product.  The gel is great as a meatloaf additive as well, for moisture and as a bread replacement.

This biscuit falls somewhere between the texture of cake and your Granny’s biscuits.  The surface is crusty if you brown it in the broiler a bit.  I love the built-in portion control of individual or 2-serving recipes because then we don’t have any leftovers to be tempted to go back and eat later.  This is quick, easy, tasty!  It is not suitable until the highest (grains) rung of the OWL ladder (or Maintenance) of Atkins.  This recipe is not really suitable Primal-Paleo followers.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

2 T. oat fiber (substitute 100% gluten-free ground oat flour for gluten-free version)

2 T. almond flour

1 T. egg white powder (I use NOW brand)

1 T. plain whey protein powder

½ tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. glucomannan powder

2 T. grated Monterrey Jack cheese

1 T. chia gel (1T. ground chia in 9T. water.  Gels up in 5-10 min.  Shake several times.  Can refrigerate leftover gel 1 week)

1 tsp. melted unsalted butter

1 T. heavy cream mixed with 3T. water

DIRECTIONS:   Measure the dry ingredients into a small mixing bowl.  Stir well.  Add in the melted butter, chia gel and cream/water mixture.  Stir well to blend ingredients.  Allow batter to sit for a few minutes to slightly thicken.  The batter will NOT be as thick and stiff as traditional drop biscuit dough.    You can either make 2 single biscuits by dividing the batter between two small ramekins or bake all the batter in a 6″ oval dish like I did and cut in half for two-biscuits (shown in the pic above).  The smaller ramekin-shaped biscuits should cook in 1 minute on HI in your microwave; the oval mega biscuit will take about 1 minute 30 seconds on HI.  My microwave is 1150 watts, but they do vary in wattage.  Yours may take a few seconds longer. They should be dry int he center if they are done.  Remove them from the microwave and gently tip out of their dish with a knife tip onto a small baking pan.  Pop into the broiler and brown the top a couple minutes.  Serve at once and ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Entire recipe (two servings) contains: (halve these numbers if eating half of this recipe)

287 calories

22.3 g  fat

16.3 g  carbs, 12.9 g fiber, 3.3 g NET CARBS

15.8 g  protein

426 mg sodium

6 thoughts on “Chia Microwave Biscuits (2)

  1. Just tripped over your blog. I plan on looking for oat fiber and making the biscuits. I am skeptical as all the other “biscuit” recipes I’ve tried were just like muffins and just called biscuits. Thank you for posting all your recipes. I have BK’d the site and hope to visit often.

    1. I love the moisture that chia gel brings to baked goods, Marisa. If you decide to try it, I think you’ll definitely agree this biscuit is not dry and crumbly like many LC biscuits.

  2. Tried these this morning, so good – helps with the cravings of tea and toast which used to be my favorite meal. I didn’t have the glucomannan powder so added more baking soda and left out the cheese. Probably not the texture and flavor yours has but delicious.

    I’ve been following your blog for a year and a half and think you have one of the best low-carb sites I’ve seen!

    I especially appreciate you tweaking recipes without wheat. I stopped using carbquick several months ago. Keep the tweaking coming 🙂

    1. Man you have to juggle so many weird ingredients around to come up with low-carb baked goods that are edible. But having those alternate recipes and foods no longer off-limits keeps me on plan, so I do it. LOL

Leave a Comment