Lupin Lemon Cookies

Lupin Lemon Cookies

Lupin Lemon Cookies

This was my very first experiment with lupin flour.  I only recently learned it existed!  I also discovered it is extremely low in carbs (12 g carbs and 11 g fiber or 1 net carb per ¼ cup!!).  My husband is VERY picky about desserts, doesn’t low-carb 100% and quite honestly, hasn’t liked all the cookies I’ve made in the last 4 years since I began my low-carb journety.  Well, tonight, he sampled these and said “Yeah, those are pretty good” and scarfed down several more (as did I)!

I’m proud to let my readers know this recipe appears in Vol. 4 of Jennifer Eloff’s Low-Carbing Among Friends cookbook ON SALE NOW!  Her cookbooks are a collections of easy, tasty, gluten-free recipes by a group of some of the most talented, creative low-carb chefs on the web!  Get your’s today! or at

These chewy, lemony cookies are DELICIOUS!  They’re soft in the center (but not crumbly) and slightly chewy on the edges and bottoms where they brown (even chewier on day 2!).  I attribute the chewiness to the imitation honey.  These have no funny bean taste often associated with lupin flour and they were just as good as any traditional lemon cookie I’ve ever eaten.  Lupin flour makes a final product that is fairly yellow in color, but that’s not a problem for lemon cookies, lemon cakes, yellow cakes or cornbread.  I’m looking forward to further experimentation with this flour, both for sweets and savory uses.  This recipe would not be suitable until the legume level of the Atkins carb ladder.  It is not suitable for Paleo or Primal lifestyles.  I obtained my lupin flour from Fooducopia, linked on the main Lopino website: and it is also now available at

NOTE:  People who are allergic to peanuts should proceed with caution with regards to lupin flour.  I am NOT allergic to peanuts, however since creating this lemon cookie recipe, and a few other baked goods, I have discovered I am highly sensitive to lupin flour!  I will therefore not be able to do further experimentation with it.  But I chat with others who are having GREAT baking successes with it. 🙂


1 c. almond flour

1½ c. lupin flour

2 tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. sea salt

1 c. Splenda (equivalent liquid sucralose will lower carbs even more!)

¼ c. erythritol

¼ c. sugar-free honey (I use Honey Tree brand from Walmart)

2 eggs, beaten

1 stick unsalted butter, softened

Juice of 1 lemon

Zest of 1 lemon

1/8 tsp. Boyajian Lemon Oil (optional)

DIRECTIONS:  Prepare 2 cookie sheets with either parchment paper (or silicone sheets).  Preheat oven to 350º.  I couldn’t quite get all mine on two pans and had to bake the last 5-6 on a second go round.  Mix the almond meal, lupin flour, baking powder and salt in a medium mixing bowl.  In a large mixing bowl, whip the softened butter with a rubber spatula until smooth (or use an electric mixer if you prefer).   Add the sweeteners of your choice and whip until well-blended.  Next add the beaten eggs and beat until smooth.  Slowly add the dry ingredients to the egg-butter mixture, beating until smooth between each addition.  The batter will be too thick to roll into balls, so just spoon up in 1″ balls or with a small dough scoop.  They spread a little during cooking, but I only placed mine about 1½” apart.  Press the blobs of dough with your fingers to about ½” thick.  If desired, press a pecan in some of them; or sprinkle a few with unsweetened coconut pressed down.  Those flavor “extras” are NOT calculated below in stats, however.  Pop into preheated 350º oven and bake for about 20 minutes, or until lightly browned along edges and on tops.  Remove from oven and place on towel to cool.  Store totally cooled cookies in airtight containers or plastic zip bags.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 36   2″ cookies, each cookie contains: (not including pecans or coconut toppings)

60.7 calories

4.7 g  fat

3.63 g carbs, 2.24 g fiber, 1.47 g NET CARBS (.87 NC using liquid sucralose)

3.04 g  protein

43 mg sodium

45 mg potassium

20 comments on “Lupin Lemon Cookies

  1. Hi, I have a few stupid questions about this recipe….

    Can I use just 1 & 1/4 cup erythritol (with a 1/2+ tsp stevia chaser), as I don’t do artificial sweeteners like splenda/sucralos? I’m guessing that your using the 1/4 cup of erythritol more or less as a bulking agent (as well as a sweetener), as the maltodextrin (CARBS!) in the splenda basically fizzes away to nothing? If so, could I get by with less (like 1 cup), and just increase the stevia a bit?

    Also, can I replace the honey substitute with something like a sugar free maple syrup? The Maltitol in that Honey Tree brand still spikes my BG, and it makes me hug my commode… The sorbitol in the maple syrup I have has a few more calories, but it’s never spiked my BS or given me the runs, like maltitol does. Otherwise, do you know of a sugar free honey substitute that doesn’t use maltitol?

    The amount of lemon juice used is a bit vague, as I see a large range of lemon sizes in the stores. i.e. the lemons I get at Coburns only takes two to make 1/2 gallon of lemonade (8 oz of lemon juice), whereas the ones from Walmart would take 5. Could you give me an approximate amount in fluid ounces/cups/whatever I should be using in this recipe? Or, if you can remember, what sized lemon you used?

    I’m wanting to make these to use these cookies with a low carb raspberry vanilla ice cream to make lemon/raspberry ice cream cookies (yea, I’m a friggen glutton)…. I’m hoping they freeze well. I’m thinking that the lemon and raspberry flavors will complement each other.


    • Well, changing out the sweeteners would be YOUR experiment, as I haven’t done that. One can usually sub erythritol 1:1 for Splenda in most recipes with no problem, but as it’s only 3/4 as sweet as Splenda, I usually use a little more of the E than Splenda. On the honey/syrup swap, again, that is an experiment, since I haven’t done it. I find the honey gives them their chewiness and doubt the considerably “thinner” syrup will accomplish that. But again, I don’t know as I haven’t done it. But they should cook up OK with it, just may not be chewy with that change. Lemons in my groceries average 2½” in length, and are considered pretty standard size, and they usually yield 1-1½ T. juice. But the precise amount of juice in a cookie recipe just isn’t critical. In a souffle, the amount WOULD be critical.😉


  2. Wow, you sure are experimenting with a fascinating new product, Peggy. I will look at the link. Curious me. Your cookies sound delicious! Do you have the nutritional analysis for the lupin flour. I suspect it would be too high in fiber for us. Just wondering.


  3. Your logical modification of the cookie recipe sounds fantastic. I will try it…first I must purchase this Lupin Flour…I hope they ship to Canada.

    As for the coconut bread…it was 3/4 cup coconut flour to 6 eggs and 1/2 cup coconut oil, 2 tsp sweetener and a pinch of salt. The batter stiffened up to a paste thick and dense. I baked it anyway. It is so dry that I thought juicy cranberries may help…but I do not have many packages and would not want to waste them…they are precious. And hard to find now that Christmas has passed.

    Your writing is wonderfully beautiful and your recipes sound divine.
    Just found your site very a few weeks ago and started reading.



  4. Yes, when I describe “dry” making coconut bread…yes, soak up all the moisture is a better way of saying what I mean. However, I was wondering if I added frozen cranberries to the coconut bread, a bit more sweetener to offset the tartness of the berries…would this become more….”moist?” Ok, then it would not be coconut bread….but more a fruit cake…which is absolutely fine with me. But the question is…would it work?

    Ah, my mother’s pie crust over the years became more cookie-like from ultra flaky…but alas, I watched her all my life…and I still cannot make a pie crust despite the directions on the Crisco package. Therefore, I am of the opinion that a cookie type pie crust is far easier to produce. Probably tastier too.

    Now…how about Chocolate cookies with Lupin flour, what about a BASIC cookie dough to which we can add any nuts, or cranberries? Would you be so kind, creative and wondrous to create a basic cookie dough for us? Please???

    Thank you,


    • I doubt the cranberries alone would do the trick. Most websites that talk about coconut flour say to increase the butter/fat and eggs when cooking with coconut flour, 1 egg per oz. of coconut flour. My personal rule of thumb is add 1 egg for every 1/4 c. coconut flour I introduce and 1-2T. more butter, too. I think of coconut flour as a “additive” and not a flour substitute 1:1. I never ever use ALL coconut flour in a recipe or I will be baking a BRICK, not cake. I won’t put more than 25% coconut flour in any baked product.

      Actually the base cookie recipe I modified for my lemon cookies WAS a chocolate cookie recipe. I just didn’t put in the cocoa or melted chocolate and used lemon juice and zest instead. I’m so pleased with the lemon ones I made, I’m going to try the chocolate version next, as written, and will post the recipe, giving the author credit of course, if they come out any good. The pic didn’t look very chocolate-y, so I have my doubts. Stay tuned on that one.

      For a plain, basic cookie dough, just take the lemon cookie recipe and ditch the lemon juice, zest and add in 1 tsp. vanilla. That would work. Then you can add whatever fruit/nuts/flavorings you like for endless varieties. My Almond Butter Cookie dough is versatile that way, too. I’ve done lots of varieties with that, chewy basic cookie dough.


    • No peanut allergies here. But I have read several sites that discuss some peoples allergic reactions to lupin beans in their various forms. I would certainly think those folks are well aware of what they should not be eating. Many are allergic to almond four, or coconut flour, or dairy. So I don’t usually bother with allergy warnings. I did add one to this recipe, however, as many might not make the lupin to peanut connection.


  5. Absolutely no problem mistaking this …I guess the ENGLISH name of Lupin baffled me…for I only knew the Italian name Lupini. It took some consideration on my part to equate the two…all due to language. Who knew? After all I am Irish!

    I am thrilled there is something new to try, ultra low carb…when you think about it, lower carb than whey protein powder. Which cannot be baked with.

    “Wonderful taste” you say, oh, I am so very tuned in! Drooling in fact, gee, I wonder what else this flour may excellent for? Pie crusts, perhaps. More cookies, and cakes! Oh, this may the low carb breakthrough of the century.

    I aim to bake desserts that in no way taste low carb…either in texture or taste or lack of sweetness. And low carb should not have an inferior taste all their own. Therefore, baking is a challenge. I want to keep my tasters guessing and swear it is NOT low carb. To me, all has to be picture perfect…to my taste buds AND most of all to my family…they are so fussy and critical.

    But that is the way all baking should be!

    May I ask…is this flour “dry” as coconut flour is? I have recently baked the coconut flour bread, ultra dense, great taste, but oh, so dry. How would this flour suit the coconut bread recipe? Oh, sorry, you probably not gotten that far yet. But my mind is racing…would it make a delicious low carb bread? Cake?
    Have you tried?

    By the way, have you ever tried freezing your lemons? Wash and dry your lemon well, pop it in the freezer and when you need the juice of a lemon, simply grate the entire frozen fruit…rind, pulp, and all…delicious and nothing is ever wasted. Works so well with limes, oranges, grapefruit, tangelos… If the fruit is rock hard simply microwave about 10 seconds it will still be frozen but less so and easier to grate. Because you are also using the rind…you require less due to the wonderful oils in the skin. A few tbsp of frozen “snow” can be added to any recipe…in lieu of squeezed juice.



    • When you say “is it dry like coconut flour” you mean does it soak up all the recipe moisture like coconut flour? No, I didn’t find it did that at all. Re your thoughts on bread possibilities, here’s one that looks delightfully smooth-textured: If you Google “lupin bread” MANY experimenters out there are successfully making bread with this flour. I suspect it WOULD make a great piecrust, too, though not sure it will render a “flaky” crust. I will definitely go down that road soon to find out. I’m pleased to have discovered this flour and think it’s very promising. Hope you have fun experimenting with it, too!


  6. LUPIN is a seed??? I thought it was a bean, a legume…also known as Lupini…which I was introduced to as a child by an Italian woman as a great fun snack to eat…by biting the outer translucent husk like exterior in order to squeeze the bean into my mouth. Is the lupin flour from this legume? If not…I am lost…but you know what? Who cares…this is low carb…no it is ultra low carb…and I am in love with it already.

    However, the since net carb count is glorious…how does it taste? Can one make pancakes or waffles from it? Can one bake with it WITHOUT the addition of almond flour? Can it stand alone? Would a pancake taste pancake…the yellow hue is no problem…it would add to the golden mouth watering colour of pancakes.

    What else are you going to create for us with this flour? How soon? Frankly, not soon enough for me. Hurry, I await to learn more. Thank you for your sharing and wonderful discovery.



    • You’re right, Gladys, and thank you for reminding me. Technically it is classed as a legume and I have corrected the narrative in my narrative to reflect that it is a legume and thus, not suitable for Paleo-Primal eaters at all. I’ve just always personally thought of it as a seed because I know it comes from those lovely flowers.🙂 I should be more careful there. Like I said in the narrative, this is my very first experiment, but I plan on trialing others, because I would have sworn I was eating a cookie made with regular flour. Taste was WONDERFUL! Stay tuned!


    • I bought mine at Fooducopia, the sight linked on the Lopino website. Shipped in 1 week. For most popular (and many of my favorite recipes) click the ALL STAR RECIPES category on the right side of my website.


Leave a Comment

