Chimichurri Sauce

Chimichurri Sauce (shown with chicken quesadillas)

Chimichurri Sauce (shown with chicken quesadillas)

This wonderful blending of herb flavors is a favorite of mine. You just can’t go wrong with cilantro, jalapeno and parsley in my book.  I just throw in some kale because it is so darn good for you and can’t be tasted as such in this sauce!  I don’t always include the vinegar usually found in Chimichurri Sauce… kind of depends how I’m going to use the sauce.  I usually do add some wine vinegar if it’s destined for grilled meats; I omit the vinegar for lots of other uses of the sauce like my Chicken Quesadillas.  I like to freeze any leftover sauce in a flattened ziploc bag so I can just break off a small piece for use in recipes.   This is OK for all phases of Atkins, Paleo and Primal fare as well.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice I do not accept payment for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 c. stemmed kale or fresh spinach (1 handful)

½ c. parsley

½ bunch cilantro

1 clove garlic

½ seeded jalapeno

Dash sea salt

¼ c. extra virgin olive oil

OPTIONAL:  2 T. red wine vinegar and dash of crushed red pepper flakes

DIRECTIONS:  Place all the ingredients into a food processor or blender and blend until well-mixed.  Serve with your favorite Mexican dishes or in recipes that call for Chimichurri herb mixture.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes about 10 T., each tablespoon contains:

52.3 calories

5.48 g  fat

.85 g  carbs, .33 g fiber, .52 g  NET CARBS

.34 g  protein

21 mg sodium

Leave a Comment

