Oven-Roasted BBQ Beef Ribs (Grass-fed)

Click to enlarge

Oven-Roasted BBQ Beef Ribs

Sometimes my husband just doesn’t feel like firing up the charcoal grill as it can often be 99º-103º here in Texas in the summertime.  Can’t say I much blame him.  This week I wanted to try the grass-fed beef back ribs I ordered from my panhandle cattleman so I decided to do them in the oven……something we haven’t done in a very long time.  Created a new BBQ sauce for them and cooked them slow and low in my roaster oven that lives out on my patio (used there to avoid kitchen heat in our hot, hot summers).  The ribs came out fall-off-the-bone tender and were “finger-lickin’ good”!  They of course lacked that smoky taste and surface “bark” only charcoal grilling can bring, but they were a delicious dinner, nonetheless.  I served them with baked beans for hubby (green veggie for me) and coleslaw.  This recipe (provided you use a low-carb sauce) is suitable for all phases of Atkins, other ketogenic diets, and also for Paleo and Primal regimens.

My nutritional stats on the grass-fed beef are courtesy of US Wellness Meats.  I actually cut the meat off a couple of the bones to determine the average yield.  Average weight of meat per rib 2 oz. cooked meat.  So 3½ lb. bone-in ribs (raw weight), yielded about 1# of actual meat.

My supplier delivers his meat frozen, so my ribs were actually cooked from a frozen state.  Cooking time for fully-thawed meat would naturally be less.  As grass-fed beef requires much more time to get tender, if not using grass-fed meat, conventional grocery store beef ribs will take much less time than specified in this recipe:  probably only 1 hour covered with foil and 1 hour uncovered after saucing.  🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

3½ lbs. (raw weight) beef back ribs (I used grass-fed, 8 ribs)

Dash salt

Dash black pepper

½ c. plan-acceptable BBQ sauce  (I used my own BBQ sauce)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven or roaster oven to 350º and then immediately lower to 250º.  Place rack or ribs in a pan large enough to hold them.    Sprinkle both sides with a dash of salt and black pepper. Cover pan tightly with foil.  Pop into preheated oven.  If using frozen ribs, initially cook for around 4 hours.    If using defrosted ribs, initially cook for around 3 hours.  Time may need to be shortened a bit if your ribs aren’t particularly meaty; time may need to be increased if they are particularly meaty.  When beginning to get tender (longer pink), remove from the oven, take off the foil cover and using a brush, baste both sides of the ribs with your BBQ sauce.  Put the pan back in the oven, UNCOVERED this time, for 30-40 more minutes of cooking.  This additional cooking will allow the sauce to caramelize on the surface of the meat. Remove, from oven when done and serve with your favorite side dishes or a nice summer green salad.  If preferred, you can pop the ribs into a hot broiler to caramelize and brown the sauce on the surface before serving.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings (2 ribs each, 4 oz. meat yield, including approx. 2 net carb sauce).  Each 2-rib serving contains:

300 calories

21 g  fat

2 g  carbs, 0 g  fiber, 2 NET CARBS (slightly varies with sauce used)

19 g  protein

4 thoughts on “Oven-Roasted BBQ Beef Ribs (Grass-fed)

    1. We do, too, Jen. But my beef supplier had a good price on them last delivery, so I decided to go for a rack and see how they cooked up. I’m still pretty new to this grass-fed beef thing. 🙂

  1. OH Miss Peggy.. this is perfect.. thank you so much
    say…. what can i use in place of…….psyllium husk powder in another recipe…..can i use Chia seeds or flax meal>> till i can get some…….let me know please…

    1. I don’t really do any psyllium husk baking, so you’re really asking the wrong person that question. Perhaps flaxmeal, but I don’t really know, my dear. You might ask that question over on Maria Emmarich’s “Maria’s Nutritious and Delicious” website, as she uses it all the time in her breads and baked recipes. She would be able to make a much better recommendation since she is so more knowledgeable on that ingredient than I.

Leave a Comment