Southern Fried Chicken

Southern Fried Chicken

My husband asked me to make “real” skillet-fried chicken for dinner recently, so I caved and gave it a try.  Haven’t been pleased with any of the low-carb fried chicken recipes I’ve tried to date, so I decided to put on my experimenting hat.  You regular readers know how I hate to stand over a hot skillet of grease to fry anything.  I invariably get popped with hot grease and get burned, thus all the oven-fried recipes on my website.

I wasn’t sure what to coat it with, but remembered reading a recipe somewhere on the web for a coating that used whey protein powder, so I decided that would be my foundation ingredient.  To that I added crushed pork rinds for crunch and a touch of oat fiber for a flour-y taste.  BINGO!  The resulting coating was the closest to my old high-carb flour coated chicken I was astounded!  Although I didn’t make any cream gravy with the browned skillet bits, I tasted them and they would have made an excellent batch of gravy had I been in a mood for some gravy.

I’m so pleased with this recipe!!  Great flavor!  Crispy!  Until you try this one, you just won’t believe it tastes just like flour coated chicken!  A winner!!!  And it’s great leftover, cold, right out of the fridge!!  Hubby said this was the best low-carb fried chicken I have cooked in my 5 years of low-carbing! My heretofore popular Oven-Fried Chicken, although very good, is just not the same as classic Southern Fried Chicken, ya know?  Not like my Granny made, at least.  This new recipe is almost exactly like my Granny’s chicken!

In order for this to be suitable for Atkins Induction, you’ll need to omit the oat fiber.  As I can’t know how you cut up your chicken, or what size pieces you tend to eat, I can’t really provide nutritional stats for the entire final meat dish.  Instead, I am providing nutritional info for 1/10 of the coating, as it was just enough to coat 10 pieces of chicken: 2 legs, 2 thighs, 2 wings and 4 pieces of breast as I cut them into halves to speed cooking time.

Visit Low Carbing Among Friends Facebook page for more delicious kitchen-tested low-carb recipes from a team of very talented cooks!  You can order your Low Carbing Among Friends cookbooks at Amazon or here: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER:  I receive no remuneration for this promotion nor for the inclusion of any of my recipes in them. I do so simply because they are filled with great low-carb recipes and you just can’t have too many of those in your low-carb recipe bos.  :)

INGREDIENTS:

3/4 c. plain whey protein

1 c. crushed pork rinds (about 2 oz.)

1 T. oat fiber (omit if on Induction or for gluten-free version)

1 tsp. my Seafood Spice blend (or seasonings of your choice)

½ tsp. onion powder

½ c. Parmesan cheese

1/8 tsp. coarse black pepper

2 large eggs

¼ c. heavy cream

¼ c. water

½-3/4″ deep hot oil (I used palm shortening) in a large 13-14″ skillet

DIRECTIONS:  Measure out and mix all dry ingredients in a paper bag by shaking well.  In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, cream and water together.  Toss in the pieces of cut up chicken into the egg wash and turn several times to well coat each piece.   Pick each piece of meat out of the bowl and drop into the bag of seasoned “flour” and when you have 3 pieces in the bag, holding the top closed, shake the bag to coat the chicken.  Don’t put more than 3 pieces into the bag at a time or they will not coat well.    Heat 3/4″ deep oil over high heat.  Place the pieces closely together.  If you’re creative, you can get an entire chicken in a 14″ skillet.  Lower heat to medium-high so larger pieces don’t over-brown before done. Repeat the coating process with the remaining pieces of chicken.  I was only able to fry 8 pieces of chicken in my largest skillet at a time, so I saved the wings for last as I knew they would cook quite fast.  Brown the chicken well on one side disturbing as little as possible.  Turn pieces of chicken over carefully to brown the second side.   When brown and done (about 30-40 minutes) remove to paper toweling to drain.  Finish cooking the remaining pieces if you were unable to get them all in your skillet.   Serve at once with your favorite sides.  I served mine with steamed cauliflower I topped with cheese and chives.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes enough coating for 10 pieces of chicken.  Numbers are for the coating only.  Be sure to add in the info for the chicken piece(s) you eat!  1/10 batch of the coating contains:

113.4 calories

7.26 g  fat

1.72 g  carbs, .53 g  fiber, 1.19 g  NET CARBS

12.8 g  protein

209 mg sodium

 

70 comments on “Southern Fried Chicken

  1. Are there any other good lc substitutes for the pork rinds? I don’t really eat pork products (I actually hate bacon…crazy, right!?) and since starting to try more lc recipes, I keep seeing pork rinds as a sub for breading products – which would be great, if only I liked them. I’ve tried almond meal, which is nice, but doesn’t quite have the crunch that I’m missing, and know that the pork rinds would provide. Any other ideas?

    • No, as just as you discovered, none of them render the crunch of pork rinds. But honestly, when you put in the designated amount of spices (or more) into the rinds coating you cannot taste these as pork rinds. Really. I don’t think I’d like using them if they actually tasted like themselves. They don’t when seasoned nicely.

  2. This recipe sounds great! My family loves fried chicken, but we had to cut it out of our meal plan because my daughter was diagnosed with a wheat allergy 18 months ago. I am wondering if this recipe would work in an air fryer. I got one for Christmas and am looking for new recipes.

    • Although I can appreciate and respect your positions on this non-hydrogenated shortening, Carol, I do not share them. And I’ve been following food blogs and food forums long enough now to really beginning to tire of people telling others how they should eat. I’ll go to my grave thinking low-carb eating is the best, but that’s my PERSONAL view, and I don’t preach it to others unless they ask for that information. I could sit here and try to justify my mere 1-gallon-a-year palm shortening “habit”, but let it suffice to say that olive oil is unstable when heated and is therefore recommended for cold use only; I don’t want everything to taste like coconut oil. And I’m not sure harvesting of coconut products is any more innocent here. We all know that most other vegetable oils and shortenings are unhealthy for a variety of well-known reasons. Just not many other choices. So as the Brits say, there we are.

        • Never used it. Way too expensive IMHO. Saw it at Natural Grocers but wouldn’t pay that price. Coconut oil, olive oil and palm shortening will serve me for a lot less $$$.

      • Peggy: That reply is somewhat harsh. I also choose NOT to use palm oil, for the reason stated by Carol Wood-Rich. That is a GOOD reason, and I try not to “excuse” any of my behaviors with the tout that “what I do doesn’t matter to the future of Mother Nature” … Just thought I’d mention, with all respect. I LOVE your recipes, by the way! My problem with frying in oil, is mainly: What do I do with the used oil? I persume it can’t be preserved, so to dump out that quantity of oil (which will, of course, go into the landfills) also bothers me… and what would you put it in, anyway? Otherwise, I drool over this recipe, with these two caveats. :)

        • Janet, you asked about a particular oil, I replied I’ve never used it and why, it’s expensive. I don’t see that as “harsh”. I’m sorry if I sounded harsh, Janet. Sure wasn’t my intent. I found your remarks much harsher than anything in my initial reply to your question. I only tried to be succinct as I must do now with the myriad of replies each day here and on two Facebook pages. Sadly brevity can be misinterpreted. I must keep replies brief if I’m to have any personal life whatsoever and get off this machine once in awhile. After 6 years of recipe sharing, I’ve learned to be brief. I try to answer the person’s questions as accurately and as helpfully as I can in as few words as possible. Typing, I simply can’t go into my (or their) philosophical, political or personal views on all hotly-debated topics that come up in the cooking/nutrition/environment arenas. Again, my honesty here, I don’t want to, really. I vowed when I started my blog it would be nothing but recipes and I would leave all that “talk” to the bloggers who choose to go into the issues and hot topics. My ingredient choices are just that, mine. I figure my readers can substitute whatever ingredients they feel are healthier, more environmentally sound or suit their needs. I do tire of being judged for or asked to justify my food choices.

          Back to your original question, I was serious when I said I found avocado oil to be too expensive. A small bottle was $9.00. I could only afford it for maybe salad dressings…….not for frying, which was your question. It may be the morally or environmentally “right” choice, but simply not one I can afford. Sadly I also cannot afford to eat all grass-fed beef or only pastured chickens and pork. I’m just not going to pay $63 for two chickens from Tropical Traditions. Nor $13-$16 a pound for bacon from US Wellness. I can barely afford the $7/lb I’m paying my Texas supplier for grass-fed ground beef and that is only a very small percentage of the beef we consume. Again, just being honest. I know it’s healthier; I know it’s better for me, the animals and the environment. Just can’t afford to do it.

          To address your specific question about used oil, I have never thrown it away. I put all used oil (strained if needed) into stainless steel canisters in my refrigerator labeled “eggs”, “meats” “bacon” and use them multiple times, topping the skillet whenever the amount I have is no longer sufficient to fry in. My oils are an on-going process, in other words, and never hit the landfills.

      • Do you buy your Whey Protein from that sight as well? I’m new to low carbing and do not have any of those ingredients on hand. Thank you! Your recipe sounds delicious and can’t wait to try it. Fried chicken is my favorite!

        • Welcome to the site, Mitzi! I have a chest freezer and can buy the 10# Mega Bag of the NOW whey protein isolate to get the lowest price per pound and just store the overage in my chest freezer. I just Google for the best deal on the Mega Bag. But you likely won’t want that much, so I would Google NOW Whey Protein Isolate and go with whatever site has the best deal. I thought Netrition and Vitacost had the best prices for the smaller tubs last time I checked. The smaller tubs are quite a bit more expensive nowadays t han what I pay on the big bag.

  3. This looks amazing and I can’t wait to try it! Thank you so much for doing all the experimenting to get each recipe just right! I appreciate knowing that if I make something you post here, it’s going to be outstanding! Kudos :)

    • Thank you, Tracy. Both I and my husband have to like a recipe for it to make the blog. And he’s pretty picky. So if it’s up there, you can bet it’s pretty darn tasty and quite close to whatever traditional dish it is trying to imitate. :)

  4. I used egg n a splash of cream wash, crushed pork rinds with garlic powder, onion powder, some dill, chives, and Italian seasoning. Double dip the chicken in the egg/crumb/egg/crumb mixture…back at 350° for 30-45 min depending on how big the chicken pieces are. (I used boneless skinless breast)…yum! Really reminded me of fried chicken, and you cannot taste the pork rind flavor. Just don’t add salt b/c the rinds have plenty…

  5. YO.U CAN SPRAY A PAN WITH PAM OIL,,, USE A COUPLE EGGS AND MILK AND COAT YOUR CHICKEN …. ROLL IT IN SEASONING AND GROUND UP FIBER ONE CEREAL.. USE BLENDER TO GROUND FIBER ONE UNTIL POWDER CONSISTENCY… PUT CHICKEN ON YOUR GREASED PAN OR BAKING DISH SPRAY TOP OF CHICKEN AGAIN WITH SPRAY PAM ETC. AND COOK ON ABOUT 425 FOR AN HOUR:)

    • I USED to oven-fry chicken with crumbs like this. But Fiber One is too high in carbs and has too many undesirable ingredients. The pork rinds have neither and work better on a low-carb diet.

Leave a Comment

