Homemade Montreal Steak Seasoning

Click to enlarge

Recipes abound for mock ups of this very popular spice blend that McCormick created in their “Grillmates” line of seasonings, all varying by an ingredient or two, or the amounts of those ingredients. There are, however, similarities from one recipe to the other.  Those ingredients are in my blend below.  I’m not so fond of the chicken blend, but absolutely adore the steak blend.  For my blend, I have used less dill and coriander seed, (spices I’m not so fond of) and I use Smoked Spanish Paprika over regular paprika.  My blend is quite similar to the original but is more to my taste.  This is my favorite recipe with this spice blend:   Montreal Baked Chicken

INGREDIENTS:

2 T. whole black peppercorns

2 tsp. dill seed

1 tsp. coriander seed

2 T. Smoked Spanish paprika (or regular)

1 T. granulated garlic

1 T. minced dried onion

1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

DIRECTIONS:  Place all ingredients into a spice grinder or blender and pulse a couple times to coarsely grind.  Place in airtight, lidded jar and store.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 20 teaspoons.  Each tsp. contains:

7.4 calories

.18 g  fat

1.6 g carbs, .59 g  fiber, 1.01 g  NET CARBS

.33 g  protein

1 mg sodium

9 thoughts on “Homemade Montreal Steak Seasoning

  1. Do you have a copycat recipe for Brazilian Steakhouse by McCormick? Also would adding vinegar, oil and sweetener allow this recipe to become a marinade?

    1. Question #1, yes, Rowena, I myself have added butter and a dab of vinegar to make a meat marinade for grilled pork ribs https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/montreal-steak-bbqsauce-and-marinade/ and also done so for oven-baked chicken https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2018/03/24/montreal-baked-chicken/. Best ribs I ever made; the bbest baked chicken I’ve ever made No, I’m sorry, I do not have a copycat for the Brazilian Steakhouse version as I’ve never bought/tasted that one. If I ever get it I might give that one a duplication go. Stay tuned. BTW, my search engine is very good here. If you just type in key words or ingredients, often the very recipe(s) you seek arr indeed here, as there are well over 1000 now. 🙂 I have converted all my family’s favorites and lots more.

  2. I will definitely save this for my to do list. Great looking ingredient combo. Thank you for posting!

    1. I think you will like this. It’s close to the commercial stuff, but I think a little milder overall. There’s no salt in mine, so if it’s TOO mild for you, just increase the amount you use to get a stronger “Montreal” flavor. 🙂

  3. Nice mix! I’ll have to try it soon – we really like Montreal steak seasoning on elk steak.

    Would you happen to have a recipe for Memphis-style BBQ rub?

Leave a Comment