Thai Chicken-Pumpkin Soup

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

When there’s a chill in the air I find myself wanting soup for lunch.  But alas, there are absolutely NO leftovers in the refrigerator today.  OH MY!!  That almost never happens!  So I then turned to the pantry for ideas.  My stockpile of pumpkin caught my eye and there sitting right beside all the cans of pumpkin was a can of coconut milk.  I grabbed it, a can of pumpkin, a can of chicken breast meat, walked over to my freezer and took out two small jars of homemade chicken stock and went from there.  The final soup came out quite tasty and ends up it’s very nutritious, too.  I went for a Thai flavor today.  GOOD choice for my e key ingredients!  This recipe isn’t suitable until you reach the nuts and seeds rung of Atkins Phase 2 OWL carb ladder.  It is perfectly suited to other Keto diets and Primal-Paleo as well.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

 

INGREDIENTS:

1  15-oz. can pumpkin puree (do not use pumpkin pie filling!)

1  13.5-oz. can coconut milk

3 c. homemade chicken broth

¼ c. packed, chopped fresh cilantro

¼ tsp. salt

Dash black pepper

¼ c. green onion, finely chopped

1 tsp. Thai Red Curry Paste (or to taste)

1 tsp. coconut aminos or low-sodium soy sauce

½ tsp. Thai fish sauce

2 cloves garlic, minced

1  13 oz. can chicken breast meat (with broth)

Sprig of fresh cilantro or my 8-seed Spice Blend

DIRECTIONS:   Basically, place all ingredients into a large soup pot, stir well and bring to a boil and then lower heat.  Simmer for 15-20 minutes.  Although not absolutely necessary, I used my stick blender to puree the meat up a bit for a smoother soup.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes five 1½ c. servings, each contains:

273 calories

19.2 g  fat

10.2 g  carbs, 2.6 g  fiber, 7.6 g  NET CARBS

13.66 g  protein

432 mg sodium

519 mg potassium

97% RDA Vitamin A, 12% B6, 8% C, 39% copper, 55% iron, 19% magnesium, 41% manganese, 22% niacin, 21% phosphorous, 16% riboflavin, 6% selenium, 8% thiamin, 10% zinc

4 thoughts on “Thai Chicken-Pumpkin Soup

  1. Hi Peggy,
    I had to chuckle when I saw this post. It was like you looked into my refrigerator! I had cooked a chicken and made stock. I had a ton of both. I immediately made this soup. My husband and I both loved it! I did tweak the amounts of the soy sauce and curry paste.
    Once again, thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipes with us!

    1. I’m so glad you folks liked it. It’s so nice when a dish this good comes together from the odds and ends we have in the pantry and fridge, isn’t it? Have a great Thanksgiving!

    1. Oh, I thought so, too, Laura! I try hard to only post the tastiest of my creations. For example, I made a new dish for dinner last night and, although it was good, I didn’t deem it quite good enough to make the website. I’m pretty fussy about which of my creations get posted here. I’m so glad you liked it!

Leave a Comment