Italian Chicken and Spaghetti Squash

Italian Chicken and Spaghetti Squash

Italian Chicken and Spaghetti Squash

I whipped up this tasty little dish for our lunch today.  I had small portion of leftover cooked chicken breast I needed to use up but it wasn’t enough for sandwiches.   The spaghetti squash that has been calling to me for 2-3 days now seemed to be a solution.  I made this with a mere 1 ¾ cup cooked squash threads for 2 people.  Double the recipe for 4 servings.  It was delicious and the flavor reminded me of a cross between Chicken Primavera and Shrimp Scampi.  I’ll definitely make this tasty dish again.  It was light and VERY filling, too!  Best of all, it’s suitable for All phases of Atkins after Induction and if you leave the wine out, even those on Induction could enjoy this dish. It’s also suitable for other Keto diets.

VARIATION:  use shelled shrimp instead of chicken.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

1 ¾ c. cooked spaghetti squash threads

4 T. unsalted butter

2 cloves garlic, minced

4 oz. cooked chicken (more if you have more on hand)

¼ c. white or rose wine (omit for Induction)

¼ tsp. Italian Seasoning blend or crushed dried oregano leaves

Dash cayenne pepper (optional)

½ c. parsley, chopped

5 San Marzano small tomatoes, cut in thirds, or 6-8 cherry or grape tomatoes, cut in halves

DIRECTIONS:  Cook your spaghetti squash and fork threads onto a plate.  I cut a 4# squash in half, cooked half, cut side down in 1/2″ water in my microwave for 13 minutes on HI.  I only ended up using half of the threads the half a squash made for this, as I didn’t want too much squash flavor to come through.

Melt the butter in a non-stick skillet or wok.  Add the garlic and saute a couple minutes on medium high heat.  Add the spices, parsley and chicken and allow the chicken pieces to brown a bit on the surfaces. Add the wine next and simmer for 2-3 minutes to allow the some of the alcohol to burn off.  The tomatoes should be added last and only cooked a minute or so to slightly soften but not go to mush.  Stir in the cooked spaghetti squash threads and toss well.  Plate and serve.  This paired nicely with a small green salad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 2 servings, each contains:

371 calories

25 g fat

12.7 g  carbs, 2.85 g  fiber, 9.85 g  NET CARBS

20 g  protein

514 mg sodium

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Italian Chicken and Spaghetti Squash

  1. I just made something similar to this without the chicken. The one I made was a cold salad though. The recipe was actually called Summer Pasta Salad but I substituted spaghetti squash for the pasta. The original recipe called for olive oil, basil, grape tomatoes, hot pepper flakes, salt, pepper, minced garlic, and spaghetti but I added thinly sliced red onion and some baby spinach to it as well. You can omit the onion if you feel it would be too many carbs. It was pretty tasty. Going to try the one you posted next time I buy another spaghetti squash…… :).

    1. Sounds DELICIOUS, Patricia! I haven’t tried spaghetti squash as a salad yet. What you used are great flavor combos in so many dishes. I’ll have to try your salad! 🙂

Leave a Comment