Twice-Baked “Potatoes”

Twice Baked Potatoes

I can’t believe I’ve been low-carbing over 6 years before I discovered I had not thought to post this recipe I’ve made dozens of times to my blog.   I’m finally doing that so it will be in my collection here on the website.   This dish is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets.  It is not suitable for Primal-Paleo due to all the dairy.

INGREDIENTS:

24 oz. raw cauliflower (about 2/3 of a large head)

1 oz. heavy cream

1 oz. cream cheese

1 oz. sour cream

4 T. melted butter, unsalted

4 oz. Cheddar cheese, shredded

2 large green onions, chopped

1 tsp. or less olive oil to grease dish

DIRECTIONS:  Cut cauliflower into smaller pieces and boil or steam until tender.  Drain well.  Stir in the cream cheese and butter to melt.  Add the sour cream and heavy cream and whip with a stick blender or hand mixer until smooth or nearly smooth.  Spread into a greased medium baking dish and top with half the cheese, then the onions and finally the rest of the cheese.  Bake in a preheated 350º oven for about 20 minutes or until lightly browned on top.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 6 servings, each contains:

209 cals, 18 g  fat, 7.85 g  carbs, 2.98 g fiber, 4.87 g NET CARBS, 6.98 g protein, 257 mg sodium

9 thoughts on “Twice-Baked “Potatoes”

  1. Peggy,  I have been reading your blogs and recipes for several months now. I thourally enjoy them and so glad to find a place where I can get good low carb & Paleo recipes. Thank you for sharing your hard work, your time and knowledge towards healthy eating. Sincerely,Jane Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

    1. Well how kind of you to take the time to stop by and say so, Jane. Always happy to share them. I want others to have all the variety in their diet I crave and achieve in mine. Ketogenic diets allow us to come up with low-carb alternatives to just about any comfort food we ever enjoyed before. 🙂 I may not always have a picture-perfect photo, as I don’t have a DSLR camera, but you can bet the dishes are good, as we both have to like a new recipe A LOT for it to get put on-line. 🙂 If our reaction is “It’s OK, but nothing special”, it won’t make it to the blog. 🙂

  2. Um, I meant I plan to make it this week, enjoy it, and THEN make it AGAIN to serve at Thanksgiving, ha, ha! I don’t think it would keep for several weeks!

  3. Thank you, Peggy, for this wonderful recipe. I’ve seen many cauliflower “mashed potato” recipes, but this one looks like it’s the BEST! I plan to make it this week and serve it at our Thanksgiving dinner. I hope you and your wonderful husband have a lovely Thanksgiving. In my home, we are thankful for YOU! ~~ Mary

    1. Thank you so much for your sweet words, Mary. I think you’ll like this simple version. I don’t like too many conflicting flavors in mine, so I usually don’t do bacon unless the hubs asks specifically for it to be added.

Leave a Comment