Cranberry Scones

Cranberry Scones

I haven’t baked anything for my husband in awhile.  Decided on scones for breakfast. I think I’ve finally developed a scone we BOTH liked.  My prior attempts were a little too dry, or a little too damp for us. These were just right and yummy indeed!  The frosting was already in my freezer and quite honestly, an afterthought.  I just wanted to see how they would be with frosting.  The verdict, good with or without frosting. Scones aren’t usually very sweet, so I probably won’t ice them in future.  By the way, these just get better with aging, both in texture and flavor!  These are not suitable for Atkins Induction.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends.  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not accept payment for this book promotion. I promote them because these are GREAT cookbooks anyone would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

2½ c. almond flour

½ c. plain whey protein isolate powder

¼ c. Splenda

2 T. erythritol

1 T. coconut flour

¼ tsp. salt

1¼ tsp. baking powder

2 eggs, beaten

¼ tsp. lemon, orange or vanilla extract

½ c. sugar-free dried cranberries (I dehydrate mine now & keep some in my freezer all the time)

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  Line baking sheet with silicone or parchment.  Measure all the dry ingredients into a medium mixing bowl.  Stir well.  Add in the wet ingredients.  With a rubber spatula, stir and blend the wet and dry ingredients into a uniform, very thick batter.   Divide mixture into 7 equal parts and roll into roughly 2″ balls.  Place on the baking sheet, pressing them slightly flat so they are about 3/4″ thick.  OR you can form into a large round disk of dough about 3/4″ thick and cut into 7 wedges, which is the more typical shape for scones.  Bake for around 15 minutes at 350º or until firm in the center.  Remove and cool. Ice if you wish, but that is NOT included in the numbers below.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 7 scones, each contains (not including frosting)

267 calories

20.7 g  fat

10.34 g carbs, 4.35 g fiber, 5.99 g NET CARBS

15.5 g protein

229 mg sodium

 

4 thoughts on “Cranberry Scones

  1. Hi, Peggy! I made your pie crust recipe today. I doubled it, rolled it out between plastic wrap and then froze half to use later. Love that recipe!

    How do you dry your cranberries? Also, do you think you could exchange Egg White protein for the whey?

    1. Glad your crust came out to your liking, Gd. The link in the recipe takes you to recipe/instructions for drying cranberries in the oven. I have a dehydrator now and use that method now. No, Egg White Protein will cook up very differently than whey protein. Top be quite honest, I’ve not had a lot of luck baking anything with egg white protein. End product can be sort of rubbery using egg-white protein.

  2. You don’t find it necessary to rehydrate the cranberries a little bit before putting them in the batter? My dehydrated cranberries could just about break your teeth! I see you keep yours in the freezer – mine are shelf stable, so maybe you don’t dry them as long as I do.

    1. No, my first batch was done in the oven per the linked recipe instructions and were still somewhat moist. But my second batch was done in my dehydrator I acquired, but also not 100% dried out. I don’t dry them as long as some folks because I think for baking, the moisture is kind of nice. If I were going to use them for snacks, like raisins, I would dry them longer.

Leave a Comment