Chicken in Sofrito Cream

Chicken in Sofrito CreamThis quick dish is absolutely delicious and so incredibly easy to make!  I keep the Sofrito Sauce made up in my freezer in a plastic zip bag and just break off what I need for a recipe.  Once the chicken is seared, this takes only 8-10 minutes to simmer down to delectable deliciousness.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets.  Primal followers can enjoy if you do dairy but Paleo folks will want to use coconut milk instead of cream.

INGREDIENTS:

1 large chicken breast, skin on (1o oz. of deboned meat)

1½ T. butter

1 c. homemade chicken stock

½ c. heavy cream (use 2 T. less if still on Induction)

Sprinkle xanthan gum

2 T. Sofrito sauce

DIRECTIONS:   Melt butter in a non-stick skillet over high heat.  Slice meat at an angle laterally into 4 smaller filets.   I pounded mine, but that isn’t necessary.  Just a habit with me and chicken.  🙂   Sear the chicken in the hot butter, both sides, until golden.  Lower to medium when both sides are golden and the meat is fully done.  Add chicken stock around the meat.  Add cream and Sofrito sauce and simmer a couple minutes.  Lightly dust with xanthan (less than 1/8 tsp.).  Simmer until it slightly thickens, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat and serve at once with you favorite sides or a nice salad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes two adult servings, each contains:

590 cals, 46.3 g fat, 2.6 g carbs, 0.3 g fiber, 2.3 g NET CARBS, 37.4 g protein, 470 mg sodium

20 thoughts on “Chicken in Sofrito Cream

  1. 2.6 g carbs, 0.3 g fiber, 1.3 g NET CARBS — shouldn’t that be 2.3 net carbs? I’m new to this, so I’m not sure what else goes into the calculation.

    1. Yes, it should be, Barbara. Clearly a typo or senior moment there. I have just now corrected it. There years out and nobody caught that error before now. Thanks so much for catching my error. If you try this, you’ll be amazed how simple and how good it is. ENJOY!

  2. Peggy I loved the sofrito taste, wanted to soak it with soul bread lol . the cream sauce though came out really really watery more like soup than sauce. I used 4 breasts so added 4 cups of broth , am I correct? even watery it was so yummy that I just put it in a bowl and had a cup of cream soup 🙂 …I might even keep it as sofrito cream soup lol

    1. Glad you liked the flavor. We adore sofrito now. As a rule, you should not increase the water/broth in a recipe without caution. I know logic would have you do so, but more than once I have gotten into trouble adding more liquids unless done slowly and checking after small additions. Just something you learn from kitchen experience. 🙂 In future on this recipe, I would only use 1½ c. broth and 1 c. cream for 4 breasts as a starting point. In invariably use more of the “richer” cream than broth just because it makes it better. As to “watery” issue, you don’t want this as thick as typical cream gravy for morning biscuits. Just thick enough to adhere to the meat a little. I did include xanthan gum thickener if you preferred thicker sauces. Alternately, you can use more cream (less broth) and reduce to end up with a thicker sauce.

    1. Yes. So sorry I left the link out on the Sofrito. My power went out last night after posting and just came back up this morning at 9:30. It’s fixed now. Link added and amount of Sofrito to use is in the ingredients list now.

    1. Thank you, pwwebb37. I thought I remembered doing the hot link last night before my power outage. I just failed to put the sofrito in my ingredients list with another link. It’s there now, though. 🙂

  3. Ok. I though I was the only one that didn’t see where the sofrito part in the recipe came from. If I remember my Puerto Rican cuisine, sofrito has onion, garlic, tomato, cilantro, and bell peppers. Recaito has no tomato. Either way, none of that is in the recipe. Something is missing.

    1. My bad. Fixed the recipe now. There are different recipes for Sofrito in different countries, but most of them are similar in flavor. Some use tomato; some do not. But my omission in the ingredient list is there now, complete with link to the sauce recipe. Sorry about the confusion, but we are all human. 🙂

      1. No worries. I’m gonna try this out this out this week. Looks good. So far all of your recipes I’ve tried have been delicious. Thanks for posting them. Makes being on Atkins more exciting.

  4. There appears to be an herb or something in the sauce, something green, but I don’t see that in the recipe. Is that the sofrito? I’ve never heard of it, so I don’t know what it is.

Leave a Comment