Spinach and Eggs

 

My Dad’s favorite way to fix eggs!!  He was a fighter pilot and this is what he always cooked himself when he came home late-night after one of his TDY flights and dinner was long over.  🙂  He would most often just used canned, drained spinach because it was faster/easier and he was so hungry.  Daddy was always fussy about his eggs, so he cookd them himself.  Mom was NOT a good scrambled egg cook (sorry, Mom).  I have my Chicken with Spinach Cheese and Eggs uploaded………..but not this foundation recipe!  Shame on me.  So I’m adding it to the collection for anyone who has never tasted eggs done this way.  You may like more spinach in yours, but I like it kind of light so the egg flavor “shine through”.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets, Primal and Paleo as well.

If using frozen spinach, you will only need 1/2 cup, thawed, squeezed/drained in/on paper towels to remove water.

INGREDIENTS:

5 large eggs, beaten

1 T. unsalted butter

1 packed cup spinach leaves, coarsely chopped

DIRECTIONS:  Melt butter in 7″ non-stick skillet over medium heat.  Add spinach and saute gently, stirring with rubber spatula, just until leaves and stems are wilted a bit.  Spread spinach evenly over bottom of the pan.  Slowly pour beaten eggs evenly over the spinach trying not to disturb the spinach.  Slowly slide the setting-up part of the eggs to the center of the pan.  Repeat that sliding in to the middle with your spatula until most of the mixture in no longer pure liquid but still quite moist.  Flip chunks of the nearly finished eggs over (I do it in four motions/quadrants of the skillet) to the other side and cook until all egg white spots appear to be set and no longer gelatinous.  Serve at once with tasty BACON!!!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 2 adult servings, each contains:

233 calories

18.25 g fat

1.5 g carbs, 0.7 g fiber, 0.8 g NET CARBS

16.2 g protein

165 mg sodium

6 thoughts on “Spinach and Eggs

  1. Has anyone tried this with young creeping Charlie leaves or with dandelion leaves?

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

    1. Not I. I imagine if they are greens you like, it would be good. But I love kale and did not like kale in eggs much. Although I see a lot of frittatas make with kale. So you really just have to try it one day and find out if YOU like the taste. 🙂

  2. This was one of my favorite breakfasts as a little girl. We called it spinach omelet. Strange, I haven’t made it in years. Forgot how, I guess. I think I’ll try it again using your recipe.

    1. Mine’s nothing special, but for girls just learning to cook, I like to post the basic, easy stuff, too, to help them learn. It amazes me people can actually get out of high school without knowing how to scramble an egg. Videos would be better, but I just don’t want to get into that at this point in my life. 🙂

  3. I love spinach in anything and very often fix my eggs with spinach & sometimes add just a little cream cheese or sour cream….yum

Leave a Comment