Whey Protein Pancakes

Whey Protein Psylllium Pancakes

I’m following a dietary protocol that requires I consume a scoop of whey protein powder each day.  Yet I’m not too fond of shakes and smoothies.  So I decided to try my hand at a protein powder pancake.  I’ve made some before, but with flax meal added for the whole-wheat, nutty pancake flavor that yields.  This time I wanted a “white” pancake and created one I think I can like for getting down that protein powder with more variety.

These are suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets and dairy-eating Primal Blueprint folks.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends.  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

INGREDIENTS: 

½ c. plain whey protein powder  (I use NOW brand)

1 tsp. psyllium husk powder

1/9 tsp. salt

2 T. CarbQuik bake mix (or other low-carb bake mix)

2 large eggs, beaten

2 T. water

½ T. coconut oil

1 T. butter (or coconut oil) to cook

DIRECTIONS:  Beat the eggs, water, ½ T. coconut oil in a medium bowl.  In a small bowl, mix the dry ingredients together.  Add the dry ingredients to the egg mixture and whip with a whisk until smooth of lumps.  Heat griddle or skillet over medium heat.  Add the 1T. butter or oil for cooking.  Spoon this not-too-thick batter onto hot griddle into 3 equal puddles, as evenly as possible.  Patience, as they WILL rise, but not immediately.  When they begin to bubble on the top and bottoms are golden, flip and cook another minute until second side is golden.  Serve with your favorite sugar-free maple syrup or blended berry puree.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:     Makes 3 pancakes.  These are so filling, trust me, one will fill you up.  Psyllium swells in your tummy.  My husband has trouble eating two. Each pancake contains:

195.7 calories, 14.4 g fat, 4.30 g carbs, 2.63 g fiber, 1.67 g NET CARBS, 20.43 g protein, 347 mg sodium

9 thoughts on “Whey Protein Pancakes

  1. Ive been taking 2TBSP of coconut oil every day for 3 years…it has medium chain fatty acids too which are excellent for the body…I just had my lipid panel test done…my Triglycerides are 38 (cant get much lower), LDL 77 (excellent) and HDL 111…so unless you have a genetic component, my numbers sort of disagree. But you need to follow your instinct and heart and do what best for you. Good luck!

  2. Here’s my experience. ( might add, hadn’t had a full cup of coffee yet) I mistakenly added 3 eggs (med), I also use MCT oil and again added too much. A full TBSP instead of half. So I had to add a little more bake mix and a little bit more protein powder. ( didn’t have a good morning)./I also added a tsp of cinnamon. Forgot the water too. It looked good so I used some rings and it made 3 thick pancakes and 1 thin one. I used sugar free syrup. They were a little dry and maybe too thick for pancakes. (probably because of no water) BUT the flavor was great. They didn’t fall part and I found I can use them for a sandwich. Just change out the cinnamon for something more savory. So next time I will follow the directions exactly. I’m not normally this scatterbrained. Lol Guess I’ll put my glasses on next time also. Anyways, great recipe, thanks

    1. Glad you liked them. I still make this recipe from time to time. Hubby like this one. I actually like the MIM (OMM) made up as pancakes best when I want a whole-grain taste. 🙂

  3. Can you substitute coconut or flax for the carb quick? I don’t have any on hand, and my grocery store is 50 miles away.

    1. I’m so sorry I somehow missed your comment, Janet. As a general baking rule in low-carb baking, I wound never sub in coconut flour into a recipe. It’s a very touchy flour to work with, requires extra eggs and liquid and will tend to dry out the end result without experimenting. You could try flax meal, but can’t make any promises that will work. Again I’m sorry I didn’t see your comment. I rarely miss one. 🙂

      1. I liked this recipe because it has protein in it, maybe I’ll experiment with almond flour. Yes, I Thanks for your reply! Janet

    1. First of all, I can’t believe you would bother to come tell me this factoid. You’re an adult and free to use whatever oil you prefer. 🙂 Secondly, I and many people now would disagree with your doctor. But I don’t know your medical history and am not a doctor. So you should follow his advice if you have confidence in him. Saturated dietary fat intake has been vindicated in recent research and many published articles as NOT elevating cholesterol numbers. How your body USES available cholesterol from food intake and how your body regulates its usage is of more importance (that and genetics). If you deprive your body of too much cholesterol, it will manufacture its own cholesterol. Just saying. It is required for heart and brain function. Many studies show now that those with cholesterol more around 200-240 fare better downstream cardiovascularly than those who artificially pull it down below 200. That’s why Pacific Islanders never had many cardio problems for centuries eating coconut, coconut oil and palm oil. Not until the invasion of our fast food chains there did they start to have cardio health problems. Again…Just saying. But you do what you like. After reading much recent research and studies, I know which kind of fat I’m going to get plenty of.

Leave a Comment