Bacon-Onion-Spinach Scramble

Bacon-Onion-Spinach Scramble

Man, I’ve made eggs with any one, two and even all of these ingredients before, but I never got the ratio of ingredients just right.  THIS time I did!  This one got TWO thumbs up from the hubs and I.  And I do believe this one’s good enough to serve at lunch of even dinner!  Such a simple meal and so very delicious and satisfying!  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets, Primal and Paleo as well.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends.  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon or our direct order site: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not accept payment for this book promotion. I promote the books because they are GREAT cookbooks anyone would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

3 thick slices bacon (or 4 thin), chopped

2 T. finely chopped onion

½ c. fresh spinach, chopped (6-8 leaves or 4 T. frozen)

1/8 tsp. onion powder

4 Xtra-large eggs, beaten

DIRECTIONS:   In a small, non-stick pan over high heat, fry the bacon until half done and just starting to brown. the bacon will add enough salt to the final dish, so do not add salt.  Add the chopped onion and saute together until onion is completely tender.  It will also begin to brown as it caramelizes, but that’s what you want.  Lower heat to medium.  Drain off most of the bacon grease to your reserve grease can, leaving about 1 T. of it in the pan.  Replace pan on heat and add spinach, onion powder and just allow the spinach to wilt in the heat.  Add the beaten eggs and cook to your preferred stage of done.  Plate and serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 2 adult servings, each contains:

285 calories

20.1 g fat

3.5 carbs, 1.15 g fiber, 2.35 g NET CARBS

22.7 g protein

710 mg sodium

3 thoughts on “Bacon-Onion-Spinach Scramble

  1. Just to clarify, drain the bacon grease after the onion has been sauteed in it? I’ve just never added bacon grease to my “drippings jar” after it’s been used to cook anything else, assuming there would be flavor mixtures I might not want for my next use. Maybe I’ve been making things more complicated than they need to be–wouldn’t be the first time. 😉

    1. Oh, you can drain it at either point you prefer. I used to keep it pristeen. But in the case of onion, since I tend to use mine in seasoning vegetables mostly, and I cook with onion a lot anyway, if a hint of onion comes through, it just makes the beans, or whatever even tastier.

Leave a Comment