Chipotle Jicama Hash

Click to enlarge

If anyone had told me what I concocted one day for lunch would have been as good as it was, I would have said “Noooooo, Waaay”. But I’m here to tell you it was just DELICIOIUS!  I’ll be making this dish often.  So easy, so quick and so good!  My husband liked this, too, and he’s not so fond of jicama. This dish reminds me a little of German Potato Salad, but jicama is somewhat crunchy.  Jicama, although lower in carbs than potatoes, is still fairly carb-y.  Substituting rutabaga will eliminate the crunchy quality jicama has if that bothers you, but will make the dish higher in carbs.  Using diced turnips will pull down the carbs even lower and remain soft.   In all honesty, the pièce de resistance here wasn’t the hash itself, but the chipotle mayo that went on top!  I daubed 2 T. over the top of my serving of hash and just sort of spread it around with my fork.  You could of course toss the entire batch in a large bowl with the 4 T. of mayo if you prefer.  But I feared that wouldn’t take as pretty a picture here.  Because this dish is slightly higher in carbs than most of my entrees, it may be difficult to fit this in to your menu during Atkins Induction.  Two choices:  use turnips or daikon radish instead of jicama; use less onion.  Then carbs will be lower.  However all foods in it are suitable for Induction.  It would perhaps be better to wait and have this when you get to Phase 2 OWL. This dish meets Paleo & Primal guidelines.

Click to enlarge

Chipotle mayonnaise

INGREDIENTS: 

4 slices bacon, chopped coarsely

2 c. small dice jicama, peeled (use turnip to lower carbs)

4 oz. purple onion, chopped

1 oz. green bell pepper (or poblano), seeded & chopped

4 T. my Chipotle Mayonnaise

DIRECTIONS:  Brown the bacon in a non-stick skillet over high heat.  Remove solids to paper toweling to drain.  In the remaining bacon grease, saute the chopped onion and jicama until the onion is tender, caramelizing and the jicama is browning (the jicama will remain somewhat crunchy).  Add the bell pepper toward the end of cooking and cook the hash just until the bell pepper is tender.  Plate the hash onto 2 plates and serve each dabbed with with 2 T. chipotle mayo.  If you prefer more mayo on your portion, you will need to recalculate the stats below to include any additional mayo used.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 2 servings of hash, each contains:

500 calories, 39 g fat, 17.85g carbs, 7.45g fiber, 10.45g NET CARBS (use less onion to lower a bit), 19g protein, 482 mg sodium

Leave a Comment