Flax-Whey Protein Bread

Click to enlarge. Sprinkled with 8-Seed Crust blend

Sprinkled with 8-Seed Crust blend

This bread is my previous Low-Carb Flax Bread that is evolving for the better.  I’m not so fond of the taste of flax and have made some further changes to my first Atkins Induction-friendly recipe.  Those changes are reflected below.  The result has a lovely taste and texture, although not as good as my gluten-free focaccia recipe…….but I can’t have that right now as I’ve returned to an ULTRA low-carb regimen.  Just replace 1/2 cup of the golden flax with the dark flax and sprinkle some caraway seed on top for a rye version.  Although not particularly low-calorie, this bread has only 1.05 net carbs per slice!  Better yet, a slice is thick enough to laterally slice into two thin slices for toasting at breakfast!

If you’re not familiar with oat fiber (please don’t confuse with its carbier cousin oat bran!) it has 26 grams carbs per serving and nearly 26 grams fiber, so it’s a wash on the carbs after subtracting the indigestible fiber.  Technically it comes from the oat grain’s husk, and grains aren’t allowed during Induction.  You CAN omit it here, but it adds much flavor and texture to this bread.  Oat fiber comes from the outer husk of the oat.  I have never gained eating small amounts of it, so I include it in most all of my baked goods.  Your mileage may vary, so tread carefully the first time you consume oat fiber. If you gain or find it stirs carb cravings, then by all means, do not eat it again until you get to the grains rung of the Atkins Phase 2 OWL carb ladder.

I prefer baking this bread in a large sheet pan, because I can easily cut into 16 uniform slices, with more crust, too!  It also is pretty easy to slice each portion laterally if you wish even thinner slices for toasting.  I just can’t slice real thin slices with a loaf of most low-carb breads…….I just can’t, without botching the slice totally.

Here’s one happy customer’s reaction to this bread:

I am so happy I found your site. I have made this recipe 3 times. and it is so good. My pan is 10X13, but it works find for me. We both think it taste like cornbread.
So I have added some stevia to make it a little sweet. And I use coconut oil instead of olive oil and increased it to 1/4 cup.
I have not had any bread for the last few years. And I can’t seem to get enough of this since I have been making it.
I really like that it slices, and stays together.
I will have to try the Low-Salt Sandwich Bread and see how it is with out cheese. I bet it is just as good.
I like it because it is Low Carb and have alot of protein.
Thank You

 

Many delicious low-carb recipes like this can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends (me included).  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon  or our direct order site: http://amongfriends.us/order.php. DISCLAIMER: I do not accept payment for this book promotion. I promote the books because they are great cookbooks anyone would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

1 c. golden flax meal

1/3 c. oat fiber

2 T. glucomannan (konjac) powder

1 tsp. dry yeast dissolved in 1/3 c. warm water

1½ c. plain whey protein

¼ tsp. salt

1T + 1 tsp. baking powder

7 eggs

1 c. shredded Monterrey Jack

4 T. olive oil

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Mix all dry ingredients and cheese in large bowl.  Add eggs, water and oil, beating eggs well until batter is well blended.  Line 11×17 sheet pan with parchment.  With a rubber spatula, scrape batter onto parchment.  Using the back of a dinner fork, spread batter from the center out to the edges of the pan, as evenly as possible.   I sprinkle caraway or other spices seed over half the sheet bread.  Bake for around 18 minutes until center is dry and springs back when touched.  Avoid over browning.  Cool and cut into 16 equal slices.  I store this bread in a gallon plastic bag in the fridge until ready to use.  It keeps about 2-3 weeks.  Can be toasted or rewarmed in a low oven.  This recipe rises enough (3/4″ thick) that you can actually slice it laterally and get a sandwich (2 slices) out of each 1/16th slice of this bread!  That really helps keep you within your daily carb limits!  This bread freezes well but remember to never freeze bread longer than a month, ANY bread, low carb or otherwise, as it dried out beyond edibility.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 16 portions, each contains:

195 calories, 14.77 g  fat, 7.27 g  carbs, 6.22 g  fiber, 1.05 g  NET CARBS, 14.6 g  protein, 237 mg sodium

10 thoughts on “Flax-Whey Protein Bread

  1. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I’ve been looking for an almond-free recipe. My konjac and oat fiber arrived today, so will be trying this tomorrow. A question: in the directions, “Add eggs, water and oil, beating eggs well until batter is well blended”, does the water mean the water where the yeast is proofed or is there more water to add?

    1. Yes, that is the water-yeast mixture. No more water is added. I do hope you like this. It filled a real void for me. It was one of the few breads I could have on Atkins Induction.

      1. I made your recipe this morning and I am very happy with the taste and texture of the resulting bread. My pan was 11 x 15. We’ve toasted small cubes of it to use as croutons on tonight’s salad.
        One more question: Is there a reason for using Monterrey Jack — can other similar texture cheeses be used? I’m thinking something like havarti or muenster.

      2. I’m glad you liked it, Emma. You could probably substitute havarti, muenster, mozzarella or Gouda without major impact on the results. If you use Cheddar the bread will likely cook up OK, but be a little oily on the surface, as cheddar has so much oil in it to start with. You just might have to paper towel blot off a little oil on the surface when the bread is done. I have even put chopped black olives in this bread for a very delicious result. 🙂

      1. I made the bread tonight. It was great! so happy it tastes bread like even! I made many breads and like them all but they always taste like something different than bread I am happy this one did not! very nice texture! I made it in a 9×5 loaf pan and cooked it for 40 minutes. one small question. is there any way for the seeds to stay on? I put this awesome seed mixture and they all came out when I cut the bread

      2. You could slightly press the seeds into the batter wearing a plastic glove or plastic bag to embed them a little before baking. It has been my experience that Some will always fall off even doing that. The slicking knife rips some loose as you slice. Can’t be avoided. Only other thing is you could stir the see mixture into the batter, but then they are not on top. 😉

  2. looks really good! I have never used glucomannan. Is there a substitute that you would recommend? I may break down and get some some day, but it hasn’t been part of my low carb pantry as of yet.

    1. There just is no sub for glucomannan that I know of. It’s a volumizer and texture enhancer. You can omit it, but may get a thinner bread with a different texture. Some use xanthan gum for enhancing texture, but I have never used it for that and don’t know how much people use.

Leave a Comment