Smokey Gouda Brussels Sprouts

Click to enlarge

I created this tasty veggie dish for people like me, quite frankly, who are NOT very fond of this vegetable.  And I succeeded!  I loved this smokey, cheesy rendition of this nutritious vegetable!  And I just don’t say that very often about Brussels sprouts.  We both thorougly enjoyed this and will be making it again.  A lovely side dish for your Holiday table, for sure!  This veggie dish is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets and Primal Blueprint as well.

Many delicious low-carb recipes like this can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends (me included).  Chef George Stella also brings you a wealth of delicious recipes you will love!  Order yours TODAY! from Amazon  or our direct order site: http://amongfriends.us/order.php. DISCLAIMER: I do not accept payment for this book promotion. I promote the books because they are great cookbooks anyone would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

14 oz. frozen Brussels sprouts

4 slices coarsely chopped bacon

2 oz. yellow onion, chopped

4 oz. smoked Gouda cheese, shredded/grated

DIRECTIONS:  Boil Brussels sprouts for 3 minutes.  Cut them in halves or smaller if you prefer.  In skillet, brown bacon.  Add chopped onion and saute together until onion caramelized.  Toss in the Brussels sprouts and stir, cooking for just a few minutes.  Transfer to baking dish if you prefer.  Top with grated cheese and bake at 350º for 15-20 minutes.  I’ve also done this dish without the bacon:

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Serves 4, each serving contains:

322 calories,  13.2 g  fat, 9.68 g  carbs. 3.9 g  fiber, 5.78 NET CARBS, 25.38 g  protein, 508 mg sodium

2 thoughts on “Smokey Gouda Brussels Sprouts

  1. Nice! On Monday, I volunteered to bring a roasted Brussels sprouts and cheese dish to our shared Thanksgiving supper next week — I may adapt this one (and I LOVE smoked Gouda!) The bacon is an extra angle I hadn’t considered…

Leave a Comment