Buffalo Burritos

I’ve eaten Buffalo (Bison) meat several times and have liked it every way I have had it prepared by or for me.  This quickie dinner may just be the best way I’ve had it to date.  Once I trimmed and sliced the meat, this meal was on the table in under 20-30 minutes.  My kind of cooking. 🙂 I use HEB Carb Sense at 3 NC per tortilla and numbers below reflect those counts.

This recipe is not suitable until you are well along in your Atkins weight-loss journey, Pre-Maintenance or Maintenance.  It is OK for other Keto diets provided the numbers will fit your daily limits.  These would not be appropriate for Primal or Paleo followers.

Many delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own cookbooks from LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, by Jennifer Eloff and low-carb friends (me included).  Chef George Stella of Food Network fame, also brings to the table a wealth of delicious recipes added to the collection!  You’ll LOVE these recipes!  Order your copy today from Amazon  or our direct order site: amongfriends.us/order.php.

INGREDIENTS:

4   low-carb tortillas

2 T. bacon grease

10 oz. Buffalo steak, (use sirloin if unavailable)

4 oz. onion

2 oz. green bell pepper

¼ tsp. chili powder (I used Chipotle smoked which we love)

1 c. shredded Monterrey Jack cheese

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 300º.  Buffalo is very lean, but trim all fat/gristle bands from meat.  Slice very thinly as you would for Chinese stir-fry (can be tough if not sliced thin) and set aside.  Slice onion and bell pepper thinly and set aside.  Next heat bacon grease in large skillet over high heat. Add onion, salt and saute, stirring occasionally until it begins to brown and caramelize.  Add meat and saute together until meat is beginning to brown.  Turn pieces of meat to accomplish this best.  Add green pepper and just saute a minute or two.  Add chili powder.  Stir/saute another minute or so and remove from heat.

Place 4 tortillas on a non-stick sheet pan or parchment-lined pan.  Spoon 1/4 of the mixture onto one side of each tortilla.  Sprinkle cheese evenly over them, fold and press top down with your hand.  Pop into 300º oven for about 15 minutes or just long enough to melt the cheese and for flavors to blend.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

333 calories, 18.3 g fat, 16.1 g carbs, 10.6 g fiber, 5.5 g NET CARBS, 25.2 g protein, 608 mg sodium

 

4 thoughts on “Buffalo Burritos

  1. I have an HEB, but didn’t know they had their own brand of low carb tortillas. I usually get Mission. But these are less. Woohoo!
    Did you get the bison at H-E-B also? I’ve had it ground in the past. Other than a little dry it was good.

    1. No, my Texas Panhandle grass-fed beef supplier sells it occasionally. But I have seen bison sold frozen both at my local Natural Grocers and Whole Foods.

Leave a Comment