Mozzy Dough

Italian Chicken Tart

Used in a pizza-like Italian Chicken Tart

I’ve begun experimenting with a dough that is somewhere between the Flathead Pizza Crust recipe on the Diet Doctor’s website and Jennifer Eloff’s Miracle Dough recipe.  But the final result is a little less delicate when rolling/handling.  This dough has good elasticity and flavor and numerous possible applications.  I can see I’ll be using this dough recipe a lot.  I have made a couple minor changes since my original version, noted below in ingredients, reflected in the revised nutritional stats.

TIP: As a time saver, I’m now making up 10 batches of the dry ingredients pre-measured on paper plates. Then I fold and pour each into a sandwich bag and store the bags in a shoe box in my pantry. Very convenient…..as then all I have to do is grab a bag, melt the butter, add the beaten egg, melt the cheese and make my dough ball. So easy that way. I store the paper plates and baggies and re-use for the next batch. 🙂

INGREDIENTS:

1½ c. shredded mozzarella cheese

1 T. cream cheese

1½ T. melted butter (slightly less than my original recipe)

1 egg, beaten

½ c. Jennifer Eloff’s Gluten-Free Bake Mix

½ c. Carbquik (or another ½ c. gluten-free mix)

1 T. oat fiber

3/4 tsp. psyllium husk powder (for rolls, only use 1/4 tsp)

Dash each onion and garlic powder (omit for dessert applications)

DIRECTIONS:  Measure out all dry ingredients in small bowl, stir well and set aside.  Place mozzy cheese and cream cheese in glass or ceramic bowl and microwave on HI for about 1-1½ minutes to melt it.  Remove and stir quickly with a fork.  Add the egg and melted butter and stir again.  Quickly pour in the dry ingredients and stir quickly with a fork to form a congruous ball of dough, making sure to get it all off the sides of the bowl.  Knead or stir a few minutes to be sure all is uniformly mixed.  Proceed to make a 12″ pizza crust (moisten hands with water to avoid sticking to fingers), pie crust, hand pies, sweet filled pastries, dinner rolls (omit onion/garlic powder for sweet applications) or whatever application you dream up.  For pizza bake at 350º until dry to touch.  Remove, slide parchment paper out from under pizza, add toppings and bake 15-18 minutes longer to desired brown level.

Mozzy Dough Ball

Formed ball once all ingredients kneaded together.

CORRECTED NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes enough for a large pie-crust with lovely fluted edge, 4 hand pies, a small 12″ pizza or 7 dinner rolls or mini pizza rounds.

ENTIRE RECIPE CONTAINS:  1140 calories, 95.8 g fat, 58.6 g carbs, 37.6 g fiber, 21 g NET CARBS, 81.2 g protein, 1542 mg sodium (divide by number of servings/pieces for the specific application you use this for)

 

18 thoughts on “Mozzy Dough

  1. Hi Peggy
    I’m just getting around to reading all your recipes I’ve saved. I have one question. I’m OK with gluten so is the Gluten free mix a must? Or can I use a “regular” (Jen’s) bake mix?
    Thank you,
    Diane

    1. All her mixes have different carb counts. Not sure which one you use. You’ll want to check the one you sub with. But the difference isn’t too great. I found her Splendid Low-Carb Bake Mix was the lowest carb of all of her mixes. I’m not gluten-free either, but like to use a blend of two mixes in most of my baked goods. The end product just seems to come out better that way. If you sub with her Splended Low Carb Mix, the numbers won’t change much at all, and the change would be slightly DOWN. A good thing, non? 🙂

  2. Peggy, I have questions about the resistant wheat starch. Since I ordered from Netrition I am owner of a 2# bag.

    Would it benefit recipes like pancakes and cookies to add it in? And, if so, about how much?

    I tried your biscuit recipe with it and the results were amazing. Think I made them a little thin, but were still good.I

    I want to try your mozzy recipe for pretzels. What do you think?

    1. So glad you liked the RWS Biscuits. They are my fav right now. I don’t usually add more then 1/4 of the “flour ingredients” as RWS. Each use is an experiment and until I actually bake something I just don’t know if that’s a good amount, too little or not enough. I use it to whiten up my baked goods and hopefully for the slowing down of starch absorption by the body. And yes, I think the mozzy dough would make great pretzels. Hope you are better at knotting them than I was. I made some with an old psyllium bread recipe and I’m terrible at making those knot shapes. LOL

  3. Hi Peggy,

    I’ve been using your recipes for years. Thought I was a pretty good cook–but you are amazing!

    Recently I’ve gotten more serious about low carb, and been considering making fat head dough. How does it compare to your mozzy dough? The fat head dough looks like it has to be used immediately and is so sticky that is hard to handle.

    Apparently, your recipe is easier to handle and can be kept in the fridge until you want to use it. Wow! That’s some acheivement! Did I get that right?

    Please help me understand this difference. I’m planning on trying your recipe this weekend.

    Keep on doing what you do. I for one, really appreciate you.

    Blessings!
    Kathy Prulhiere

    1. I tried making the FatHead dough and I just couldn’t work with it. Made a mess and just tossed it in the trash. Maybe there’s a knack, but I’m not patient enough when I’ve just messed up my ingredients and discarded them. Mine isn’t sticky much at all, is easier to roll, cut and work with. I am posting a recipe today (Bacon Maple Twists) that will show how easy it is to manipulate and work with. I think that’s due to my psyllium addition. There are just 2 of us, so I usually use 1/2 recipe for whatever I’m making. I chill the rest in a baggie and just soften in the microwave by opening the baggie and warm for 1 second on defrost. Then I knead into a ball and go with it. I’m sure it can be frozen (though I haven’t yet) and just defrost slower or at room temperature to be safe. Mine has a doughier (less cheesy) texture with my oat fiber addition I believe. I think you’ll like this one and should give it a try. Then you’ll be addicted to creating all sorts of new things with it. I’m starting to make up little baggies of all the dry ingredients and labeling “savory” or “sweet” (when I omit the onion/garlic powders). Then I just pull out one of those baggies, melt my cheese, add the melted butter and egg and mix/knead real quick. A real time saver that is.

      1. Thanks for the clarification. Have order coming from netrition. Will let you know how it comes out.😊

      2. Peggy,
        We love you for all that you do for us here at LCN….
        and really for all low carbers everywhere.
        Your creative juices really flow. Right into my kitchen
        into my skillets and into our tummies.

        Thanks for sharing your creative genius with all
        of us.

        Barbo
        barbo’s low carb kitchen

      3. Aww, thanks so much for those sweet words, Barb. They mean so much coming from such a good cook like yourself. I think all the low-carb cooks blogging today go a long ways to see that this diet journey can certainly be a tasty and pleasant one. 🙂

  4. This sounds wonderful, can’t wait to try it. Is it okay to mix up a go-to batch of Jennifer Eloff’s Gluten-Free Bake Mix, to have on hand to use as needed? Thanks!

    1. I keep Jen’s G-F Bake Mix made up on the pantry shelf at all times. 🙂 This dough can be frozen in baggies and thawed at room temperature as well. I’m using it so often these days, I make up 5-10 batches of the dry ingredients on 5-10 paper plates, stir and place in baggies labeled “savory” (with onion/garlic powder) or “sweet” (with sweetener in dough). Then I just have to add the melted cheese, butter and beaten egg. I confess freely to being a lazy cook. LOL

      1. Thank you so much. That is great to know! I am torn in many directions and strapped for time, and find it hard to pull everything together to make a great low carb recipe except for occasionally. You just make my life a lot easier. 🙂

      1. I love your recipes, Peggy! I have them all printed and in a special binder!

      2. Glad to have devoted followers like you on-board, Mary. Been feeling a little better this month and hope to get back into my kitchen a little more often and post some new creations. We’re hitting high 90’s and triple digits this month (unseasonably early) so staying indoors in the AC and not doing my beloved yard gardening will have to suffice for now. My followers will love that, I suspect.

Leave a Comment